Skip to content

Christmas – Day #2 – Come Back

December 27, 2015

Call me a sap, but tonight there’s so many things going through my head.

We just left the theater; Nate & I and the two big kids. I left tonight feeling happy. Happy that we had spent a total of $11 on four tickets, four medium popcorns, and two large drinks. (Thank you Deal Flicks!) Happy because of a strong sense of nostalgia; a homecoming of characters and storylines. This Star Wars #7 was a beautiful mix of old and new. I found my heart happy to see old friends, to revisit familiar storylines mixed with new lines, and of course the wonder of what is to come in the next two episodes. The pull of the force and that inner light has a depth of beauty beyond Hollywood’s grasp. Nostalgia yes, but God’s guidance even more.

A conversation on the drive home with a friend contained such a strong sense of peace and contentment, something we haven’t seen in them in a long while. Of course, there’s always a mix of real-life, but tonight, I heard such simple love. Another boost to my overflowing happy emotions.

While getting ready for bed, someplace I thought I would be long ago already, I was reading a very beautiful blog post about adoption and how it changes your heart forever. It’s something Nate and I have always considered, but with our hands quite full now, it’s not where we feel God is leading. However, my heart is so instantly touched by the idea and especially to hear the stories of those who have walked and continue to walk that journey. God bless us all! (You can read the blog HERE. Simply beautiful and God’s provisions immense!)

My mommy heart was moved again just a few short seconds later at the sound of Max’s whimpers from the nursery. He sees me enter the room and he stands up to greet me asking to be held. After not being home tonight to put him to bed, of course, I happily indulged a late night snuggle. He immediately rested onto my shoulder in that perfect little crook next to my cheek.

Having woke up herself, Clare whispers, “Papa?” (who was the one to put her to bed tonight). “No, Clare, it’s actually daddy (who had come in to deliver some water to Max). Good night and go back to sleep.” What’s her response in that ever so sweet, I’m half asleep whisper? “Thanks for coming back!” It was the final straw in my already emotionally overflowing heart. There was such an onslaught of goodness tonight. Her words were a stirring that I couldn’t ignore. As I held a sleepy 15 month old, I pondered our sweet four year old girl’s words, “Thanks for coming back.”

Is that not what God had been saying to me all night?

Sara, thanks for coming back. Thanks for allowing your heart to be stirred by my love. I showed it to you a zillion different ways. Thank you for coming back, for hearing my voice, for responding to the love that I have to give you. It’s here, in these simple everyday moments of those around you. Tonight, you have simplified life and can hear the simplest of my messages. “Thanks for coming back!”

Okay my dear Jesus, as I crawl into bed, officially after typing these last words, how do you want me to come back to you? When I wake tomorrow morning, in what ways shall my day be different? In what ways are you calling me to COME BACK?

Thank you for your stirrings my Lord. I’m listening in this Christmas peace. The season is only beginning! Please keep stirring!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Gerise permalink
    December 28, 2015 12:00 am

    Beautiful Sara Lin…such a gift we have in the love of Jesus! He always awaits and is stirring and gently nudging us to remember his love! Thanks for coming back to his love…it is simply the best place to be!! Love you tons! Thanks for sharing! xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

