Skip to content

Advent Preparations – Day #9 – Mercy Awaits

December 7, 2015

So today was a day spent at home, doing laundry, getting caught up on a few tasks here, and painting. The weather was gorgeous today. It was the perfect opportunity to send the little girls out to play while I watched from the kitchen table. I had my little painting project set up and I was content, big kids were schooling, baby was sleeping, and the girls were happy to play on the swings and the trampoline out back. It’s winter(ish) so there’s no bugs which makes leaving the doors and windows open even more appealing. I love high 60 degree weather!

At any rate, my little painting project is one that is sort of long-standing. I’ve been creating (along with the big kids) saint peg dolls. They are all over Pinterest and Etsy and I’ve had my eye on them for several years. I’ll blog more about this when they are finished, but today, I was working on the final dolls for this year of Mercy along with the kids’ patron saints.

Tomorrow, the feast of the Immaculate Conception, begins this year of Mercy. No doubt, God has a lot of work to do in all our hearts as the graces are showered upon our family, country, and world. I think the timing couldn’t be any more perfect. So as I layer paint upon these wooden shapes and these saintly images begin to become more distinguished, I’m praying our hearts would be more open to receive the depth of graces the Lord has to give us this year. I’m pondering how I will be challenge, how I will have to die to self just a little more, in what ways I’ll have to eat humble pie (my Achilles’s Heel for sure), and yet the glory that awaits on the other side of these moments of growth.

I’m also praying that the right meditation material cross my path in this journey and lead me to greater contemplation! Please pass along anything you find particularly poignant. I’m happy to make time for it in my day! A college friend passed this one along today; It’s Time for Mercy Sisters. I’m anxious to continue reading it just before turning out the light tonight. I, especially, want to take a look at the text contained in the links at the bottom of her post.

Blessings to you and your family! May mercy be upon you!

Happy feast tomorrow! Mother Mary, pray for us!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

