Skip to content

Advent Hope – Day #5 – Where are you?

December 3, 2015

We have been using a little devotional reading at our meals this Advent. The Greatest Gift is more Protestant than I’m normally accustomed to reading, but we are going to stick with it for now. Thankfully, Nate and I live under the expectation that we simply infuse greater Catholic depth when it seems to be relevant. There is no exception here.

I chose this book on a whim as it included Jesse Tree ornaments and appeared in a homeschooling thread. I’m happy to see the kids begging to be the one to color the day’s Jesse picture. We read the bible passage when we say Grace Before Meals and our saint litany. The first person finished eating reads the Advent meditation to everyone else at the table. Knowing our evening was going to be rushed, we opted to read it at lunch today (and partially again at dinner).

The line in the meditation that struck me most was, “How would you answer if God asked, ‘Where are you?'”

I have to say my first response was, “Here. In the middle of the noise and activity of our big family life with young kids. You’ll find me in the middle of it.”

However, I am certain I’m not meant to read this bible passage quite so literally, right?

When I choose to DO my lists instead of being in prayer, or scurrying about instead of sitting in contemplation, or raising my voice instead of speaking charity, I’m no doubt running from something. My hiding from God is all the moments in my day when I am self-reliant, getting it all done. It is the activity void of holy connectivity. So…today I tried to listen more, sit longer, hold a bit more, connect more meaningfully in the everyday moments presented to me.

Today, it was relationships that were most on my mind. It was a consciousness to smile more, to use nonverbal communications to convey love. It was a setting down of things in front of me to be interrupted by a little voice.

I read many weeks ago the most fantastic meditation on motherhood. Admittedly, I’ve kept it open on my phone for many opportunities to reread it. It speaks to my soul in ways that bring me to my knees and often tears to my eyes also. For me, it is God’s voice directly spoken to my heart. It is the very desires I seek and yet so often miss in application.

Please take the time to read it. Read it as a mother of littles that needs the reminder. Read it as a dad looking upon the sensitivity of a feminine mother’s heart. Read it as a Grandparent who understands the reality in a different perspective. Read it as a child of God treasured by the Father in ways we can’t fully comprehend until we gaze upon his face. Oh the wonder of that moment; the Beatific vision. How magnificent! We shall long for nothing more in that moment.

Thank you Danielle Bean for your words of love. You are truly a gift and an instrument of God’s voice.

Check out this mini meditation:  A Mother’s Liturgy of the Hours

Today’s blessings included an abundance of childhood giggles and a house full of voices!

Untitled

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

