Skip to content

Advent Hope – Day #4 – Forever Learning

December 2, 2015

GOD IS GOOD! 

Why? I’ll tell you one of an infinite number of ways He shows me this everyday.

Four weeks ago, I picked up one of our littles and she went limp in protest of what was sure to be a repeated consequence. In a split second, doing a move (simply picking her up off the floor) I’d done a zillion times before, I was significantly injured. Pain shot up my spine, I lost my breath, and I was almost completely paralyzed in fear. I knew I couldn’t really stand. I couldn’t walk. I for sure wasn’t going to be able to get off the floor if I chose to just fall. What do I do? I opted to steady myself against the wall and just breath through it. I’ve had practice with lamase breathing, right? Thankfully, standing seemed to be the key, but holy cow. After several days of crazy tough pain, not constant, but definitely intense when I did certain things, I was able to isolate the pain to my tailbone. Great. That’s never easy to heal and the ache was so far inside, nothing seemed to really ease it. Couple that with the shooting pain up my back, and the dull ache through the back of my left thigh, and I was losing my mind. 

I learned not to sit for very long, and to hold my breath when I stood up. I always walked gingerly in case my back didn’t aupport my torso with the next step, and for goodness sake, never move the mid-section as that electrifying pain was sure to return. The house was a mess, the babies didn’t really understand, the big kids were slacking in school, and I was grumpy. It’s just not the ideal way, right?

Desperate for some normalcy and feeling like I was at least a bit more mobile, I asked Clare’s friend to come over for a few hours. God is so good. After suffering for two weeks, He sends the little girl’s aunt to my rescue. She happened to be visiting from the northwest and had knowledge of chiropractic care and sports therapy, and deep tissue massage. Oh my. When God brings a literal “savior” directly to your door, even I can see the wisdom in listening. She was so very kind to extend to me her knowledge and skill, and laying on my dining room floor, with children rambunctiously playing all around us, she stretched certain areas and had a bit of relief. She offered me another hour session at her sister’s house that night. Clare was ecstatic – two play dates in the same day! 

Holy cow. This type of massage is not for the weak. Wow. She surely found every knot I had ever managed to create, and released it. I just kept saying, “God you surely sent her. Guide this path as it might be the craziest thing I’ve ever hastily agreed to do.” I don’t typically make fast decisions, nor try new things without considering the hell out of it. Desperation was a big motivator in this case. 

At any rate, I’m certain this little angel in disguise, started both physically and mentally my healing process. She will always be a true gift to me, and of course her sweet sister and niece are already counted among our dear homeschooling friends! God is good right?

This tiny woman with a huge heart and a great deal of strength coached me on the benefits of a good chiropractic adjustment and how to find a credible Doctor. She also lit the fire under me to get an appointment the very next day. 

Again, God has blessed me beyond imagining as I have continued to say yes a hundred times over in this journey of healing. Nothing in this chiropractic treatment plan is familiar to me, and yet Dr. Annette has spoken truths that even I can understand as she’s taken great care to justify both a reasonable diagnosis and treatment plan. Golly she’s been patient with me.  

Satan wants desperately for me to doubt. It’s always the best way to get me to change course. I’m forever grateful for this good doc’s wisdom and life experience to coach me through the pain, to remind me these are intensely strong core muscles and it is going to take some time to make them happy again, and that it will work. Be patient. Rest. Let your body learn not to fight itself to stay in balance.

Hhhmmmm. Think there is some divine wisdom there? How many other areas in my life do I need to let go of this “super woman” battle I insist upon fighting?

So? What now?

After five adjustments, I am dancing with joy. I’m out of pain, I’m progressing and getting stronger in ways that even I can understand, and I’m eternally grateful to have knowledge I didn’t previously possess. God is so good to give us the intricacies of our human body. I am grateful to understand that in ways I could never have seen without this crazy injury and alternative treatment.

So. Why did I say all of this? Well I’m not sure really. I guess I could have just stayed with God is good, and closed the post in the first sentence. However, there’s much to learn from this month of November. 

Taking care of me is honoring both God and my family.

Pain is a powerfully humbling force.

Friends are a true gift. Profoundly really.

Small yeses can become life-changing moments.

When HOPE is sometimes all you have, hold on tight. (Guess the name of this amazing woman brought to my literal doorstep! God is truly amazing.

Thank you Melody for sharing your own love and sister, Hope, with me. Thank you Hope for blessing me more than you knew. God you are awesome!

Continue to hold on to whatever HOPE is on your horizon! 

Untitled

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

