Skip to content

Advent Hope – Day #3 – Teaching & Women

December 1, 2015

Look at this. I’m hanging in there with this little blogging commitment, and it is only 10:30 tonight, not 11:30 p.m. like last night. Yea! (To be fair, I’m blogging instead of helping my husband fold laundry. So….for the record, I am incredibly thankful for him. Although, tonight’s post is not all about him. His turn will come, I promise. Just know that I haven’t totally neglected my real hierarchy of gratitude. He is very often at the top. Wink. Wink.)

It has been such a very full day today.

Thankfully, I think the morning’s discipline was relevant and fully understood. Now, tomorrow I’ll get a chance to speak to the other teacher involved and get her feedback, but I’m proud of our “unnamed” child for stepping up today. We have a way to go in this lifelong journey of managing difficulties, but my prayer remains and I hold on to the HOPE of Divine guidance to overflow my own imperfections as parent, teacher, and formator. It’s daunting without HOPE. I choose to hold on to the promises given us and the HOPE that all faithfulness will be rewarded, on all our parts!

I had an incredible woman of God mentor me my first year’s teaching.  She taught me well to focus on a child’s good when the going gets tough. Sometimes I’d have to have help finding their good, but she assured me when I’d get overwhelmed by my class of “dysfunctional” kiddos, that each of them had bright spots. It was my job to find them. Moreover, it wasn’t enough just to know them, but she challenged me to focus on every good I found, even the tiniest of things. Celebrate all the good, even if it seems trivial. Celebrate it and celebrate it some more, obnoxiously celebrate it if you need to be convinced. Why?

Well I learned that not only did I need to see the good, but oftentimes the child needed to see the good also. What happens when we celebrate good? More good emerges, right? Sure enough. 16 years ago as I sat in my first classroom as a teacher and started to celebrate the often ridiculous things, great things started to emerge. It wasn’t long that I didn’t have to simply overlook all the dysfunction, I could instead easily see goodness as it began to outweigh what had previously been taking precedence and making everyone crazy.

I’m afraid I’ve lost sight of that reality lately. As teacher to my kids, I choose to renew my efforts in celebrating their good with HOPE that profound greatness will emerge; greatness that I can’t even imagine. I limit God constantly. I know this. I also know I limit my kids. They say knowing is half the battle. Well, I’m holding on to HOPE that the other half will come with Advent graces.

I’m forever grateful for my vocation to teach. I firmly believe it is where God wants me to serve, and thankfully he feeds my soul when I’m in the classroom. Today, it was in a one hour afternoon tutoring session and with 25 art students creating magnificent pointilism images honoring baby Jesus on his birthday. Aren’t they magnificent?

Untitled

Untitled//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

In addition, I was reminded of the gift holy women can be to one another. I’m so very grateful for our little homeschooling village who feeds my mommy soul too. I’ve come to love so many of these magnificent women and their children also.

Untitled

Today was a total fail on healthy eating goals, but we will improve there too. Today, I choose to look at all the ways we did succeed. There were so many great moments. Tomorrow, we will jump back on the bandwagon with an easier schedule and less tight timeframes. A plan is already in place.

Here’s to celebrating more good! Happy 3rd day of Advent! How are your preparations going?

Untitled

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

