Skip to content

Happy New Year – Advent Day #1

November 29, 2015

So…

It’s been awhile again.

I am sure I have things to say, but I’m afraid as of recently, my words have been used in other places…many, many other places actually. Life is quite busy, it’s full, and some days it is exhausting. Actually, lately I’ve managed to have the deck stacked against me regarding my “super woman” powers. (It’s the phrase Nate coined many, many years ago when I was in the out-of-control-DOING mode and then beating myself up when it didn’t all get done. We still use it often for many different scenarios.) I’m happily starting to find my moxie again, but more on that another day.

For now….it’s a new year. Actually, to be fair, it’s a new Catholic liturgical year. The year’s cycle has begun again. We have left Ordinary Time and the doldrums of the green vestments and have entered the preparations of a great feast and the majesty of purple vestments. Gosh. I like these moments a lot…the begin again moments. I seem to need them often. I love my lists, goals, event planning, contemplating, etc. etc. etc.

So here it is.

I was talking to Nate today as we were driving ALONE and mulling over Father’s convicting homily from this morning, and considering areas that needed some renewed focus. This blog is one of them. I need to take the time for myself, for my family, for whoever might be reading this, to consider my own words.

Katie was sick recently and I got the privilege of sending the family out of the door and crawled into bed with her to watch a movie. She chose Mom’s Night Out. We’d never seen it. What a cute movie and oh how I could relate. I haven’t truly LOL’ed while watching TV in a long time, but the end scenes truly had tears streaming down my face. Oh how I could so relate to the neurotic main character and her “feeble” attempts at virtuous heroism (like when she frames the artwork under the stairs). At any rate, she had something to say. I’m challenging myself (with greater prayer too) to find something to say. You are welcome to come back EVERY DAY and check it out. I’m really going to do it.

Really!

Today.

Hhhmmmm.

I think I’ll show you instead. It was a full day and I have to get back into the habit of photo documenting our day. I used it do it much better and now with my new iPhone, it is much easier to do again. I just have to retrain my brain to think of it.

Blessings to you and your family as your own New Year begins. Catholic or not, I challenge you to look at this Advent as your own new beginning. How will you prepare your heart for the Christmas celebration to come on Dec. 25th?

Untitled

Until tomorrow!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

