Skip to content

OH happy surprises

June 4, 2015

So THIS has been on my amazon wish list for well over a year. I saw a blog post that of course I can’t find now that highlighted the family tradition of these “cookies”. I saw it and smelled funnel cake with a beautiful twist, and was so intrigued. Well as luck would have it, my Grandmother surprised us with filling a suitcase and sending it home with Daddy. She’s moving and cleaning out closets and cabinets. Gosh, I couldn’t be happier.

2015-06-02_130 (1280x851)

There’s a recipe in the box that looks old, but it’s unclear it was it’s written my grandmother or my great-grandmother. Regardless, oh my goodness, I love everything about this.

2015-06-02_132 (1280x851)

The batter is so thin and you simply heat the iron and dip it into the batter. Thanks to my dear husband who could see my frustration and surely knew this was all he was going to hear about it if I couldn’t get it to work, did a little YouTube search of his own and deduced that the heat of the iron was what adhered the batter to the iron itself. Sweet.

2015-06-02_138 (1280x851)

Oh yea! So very, very yummy!

2015-06-02_140 (1280x851)

We sprinkled the underside with cinnamon/sugar and then flipped it back over to sprinkle some pretty powdered sugar.

2015-06-02_142 (1280x851)

There’s a serious disagreement in our house that these delicious little funnel cake-like cookies should be cooked to absolute crispness or soft and barely cooked. I’ll never change my mind. Definitely undercooked is the best way. I think we will be making this again, and I’m forever delighted with this unexpected surprise from Kansas to Atlanta via Southwest Airlines.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

