Skip to content

Liquid watercolor & lots of hot air

March 24, 2015

I’m so proud of my little artistes! This month we concentrated on showing expression in simple line drawings in cartoon style. How do you convey the most expression in very little details. THEN…just to be silly, we added hair by blowing liquid watercolors. I have not had previous experience with liquid watercolor and thus set out to do a great deal of online research via art teacher blogs and good ‘ole pinterest.

Thanks to some great teachers, I learned that plastic condiment cups with lids were great receptacles for said medium. I agree. Not only was it easy to transport, but it will surely be keep extensively in these little containers. Great deal in my book! Thank God for amazon prime and cheaper options with greater quality than what I could find locally.

I snagged some of our snack trays from the wholesale club stash in the garage and ordered a few plastic pippettes for dropping the paint onto the paper, and my artists were ready to begin.

The only rule…DON’T spill the paint. I had hoped that by keeping it in the trays in the center of the table and making a big deal about not spilling, that indeed we’d leave without a spill. Well, it was almost the truth. The only spill was actually MINE and it did remain in the tray! WIN!!!! However….good grief!!!

With a little lesson in blowing from your belly (that little muscle known as your diaphragm), the kids were ready to blow some hair patterns.

(As an aside, I love all the sibling and friend combinations below. It makes me happy that they have made some new friends, and are able to create with their siblings also.)

2015-03-19_008 (1280x851)

2015-03-19_009 (1280x851)

2015-03-19_011 (1280x851)

2015-03-19_012 (1280x851)

2015-03-19_018 (1280x851)

2015-03-19_022 (1280x851)

For almost an hour, these 26 kids blew and blew and blew. I LOVE how their pictures turned out…each one so incredibly unique and with a great deal of expression! I love it.

2015-03-19_025 (1280x903)

2015-03-19_028 (1280x836)

2015-03-19_034 (1280x884)

2015-03-19_036 (1280x851)

2015-03-19_038 (1280x851)

2015-03-19_042 (1280x851)

2015-03-19_043 (1280x852)

2015-03-19_023 (851x1280)2015-03-19_026 (851x1280)I can’t believe this school-year of classes are almost complete. Next month we will be experimenting with tessellations and then it’s the year-end showcase. Be sure to register early for both events! Registration can be found HERE.

I think I’ll continue to do some of my own projects with these liquid watercolors. My little girls love to paint. I love the vibrancy of these colors far more than any paint set they currently utilize. I can’t wait to see how they girls manage with this medium. I think there’s some great potential even for their little hands to create some really striking things.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

