Skip to content

Baby Jesus is the Heart of the Season

December 4, 2014

Twenty students joined me this week for the homeschool art class. It was really cool to see how many different interpretations there were on the night sky. Oil pastel brands react differently to paper and blending which created some of the variations. Also, the choice of color and the ability to press hard enough to blend it also makes a difference. This lesson was a great exercise in using scissors and transitioning from a very messy, carefree laying down of color to a precise and meticulous driver exercise like cutting. I think I’ve realized that homeschool children need to use scissors more often. It’s good to strengthen the hands and the mind as you strive for greater precision and a slower pace in completing the task. I’ll be certain to make sure I add this more into our curriculum also. I love how well the students did in completing their main portfolio nativity scene.

2016 (1280x851)

2019 (1280x851)

2018 (851x1280)

2020 (851x1280)

2021 (851x1280)

2022 (851x1280)

Great work to all my students and a special thank you to those who agreed to be photographed!

As an aside, students please do not forget to finish your remaining trading cards for this fall semester. It is imperative that you work on them each month so at the end of the year you aren’t playing catch up and rushing your work. The showcase will be a fun time to trade with friends and show off your portfolios to family also.

This month’s cards will require you to use the pastels to create a background (morning, noon, or night) and then lay down a black silhouette either by drawing it and coloring it in black, coloring the provided images black and cutting it out, or gluing to black construction paper and cutting out your images to glue onto your background.

Please let me know if you have any questions. You can find printouts of the pages HERE and HERE and HERE.

Merry Christmas from my family to yours.

3677cdd8-e4a3-4343-96cd-9e41a9ebe78c

One Comment leave one →
  1. Deanna permalink
    December 5, 2014 7:43 pm

    It looks like an angel is in the doorway of the second picture!! Too cool!!

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

