Skip to content

Adventuring with Grana & Papa

September 12, 2014

Our homeschool group found a little water hole earlier this summer. However, with two young babies and a 40 minute drive to get there, I just wasn’t game to try it on my own. Thank God I didn’t. It was a seriously fun day, but one set of eyes is not enough on four kids in the water with rapids and varying degrees of water depth. Water sort of freaks me out anyway, mostly unnecessarily, but none-the-less it’s not an area I’m likely to ever opt to take a risk.

After a longish drive, lunch was first on the list. Clare was so delighted with her little perch on the rock. We chose to sit in our camp chairs behind the car, but Clare was all about her rock.

2014-09-11_038 (1280x851)

The butterflies were everywhere and several different varieties. This one happened to be hovering all over Michael’s flip flop. Was it the matching color or the smell that was the biggest draw? I wish I knew. However, take a close look at this shoe. It and its match are surely still floating down the Amicalola River.

2014-09-11_033 (1280x851)

The big kids were so delighted to explore the bends with Papa. I’m not really sure who was more unsteady on their feet, but for sure Michael ended up falling the most. Even from a distance, it was delightful to hear his laugh.

2014-09-11_042 (1280x851)

While the big kids explored, the littles were under my watchful eye near the shoreline and in the wading pools. Clare declared this burnt log her dragon. She mounted him and yelled “yee-haw” all the while encouraging and directing Elizabeth how to get on herself.

2014-09-11_116 (1280x851)

2014-09-11_145 (1280x882)

The little girls longed to be part of the big-kid & papa action. Thankfully, they were able to share some time of their own “out in the middle”.

2014-09-11_055 (1280x851)

Everybody loves Papa. I think it’s safe to say that Elizabeth holds a special affection for her hero and top of the world companion. At 6’5″, I’m sure it’s an added bonus when Papa holds you. Having seen him the least in her short little life, she has lost no ground in spending time in his arms. There is no doubt she loves her “Bopa”.

2014-09-11_062 (1280x851)

2014-09-11_064 (1280x851)

Thanks to Mom (dry and in the shade under the trees along the shore) she was able to capture a pretty great story in these pictures. Elizabeth had already reached her capacity for water fun and was ready for a nap. Having done nothing but cry with the last few steps, I threw her wet body onto my hip and prepared to make our exit back to the car.

2014-09-11_180 (1280x851)

Clare was surely not finished playing and in this moment is already being re-warned of her boundaries until Papa could get closer and take over.

2014-09-11_183 (1280x851)

Ohhh. Clearly she overstepped her boundaries. However, I had no idea my other two were struggling to cross the middle rapids.

2014-09-11_187 (1280x851)

At this final moment, I have both babies well contained, screaming their heads off, and I’m ready to give some attention to my big kids encouraging them to make their exit, only to look up and find both of them struggling to gain their footing and no where near exiting themselves.

2014-09-11_189 (1280x851)

So, final thoughts on the day?

Adventures are fun and surely never go the way you anticipate. We never did find the original location (or what I thought was the right location based on pictures friends had shared throughout the summer). However, the kids, all of them loved this new water experience. Papa found a great little place in his new “outdoor” surroundings. There might even be a place to fly fish on another occasion. Today, the location provided something for everyone. I love that most of all. The water was cool enough that my very pregnant self was comfortable, and Papa was along to both assist in the water and drive us on this adventure. I didn’t even have to navigate thanks to Grana. Papa says, “It is more fun playing in the river than in the snow.”

(As an aside, Casper received their first snowfall of the season today. It was close to 90F here, which made the below freezing temperatures back “home” even more surreal. I think there will be many more days spent loving the outdoors here in the south than were possible in Wyoming. Well, different days at least. Papa’s adventuring has started off on a good note I think. At least my crew is quite happy!) I think maybe next season we will have to find our way back to Devil’s Elbow again.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Auntie Sherry Ruth permalink
    September 13, 2014 5:25 am

    what a great first expedition for Papa Shermy….love how Katie & Mikey were laughing the whole time they were struggling to get across the creek back to safety…what a trooper you were too Sara LIn….can’t wait for you to be able to go back next year without being pregnant 🙂 love you all!

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

