Skip to content

First Day of School Excitement

August 12, 2014

Ugh. What a bummer. I had my original post almost completely finished and then “lost it”. So…I’m starting over. It’ll sure to be shorter than the first as it’s late, but I know I won’t get to this tomorrow so there’s no time like the present.

School started for us today. It seems so late to be starting, but it seems (after having gone back through the blog) that our start date really varies wildly from year to year.

The kids always wake to find their school supplies on the kitchen table.

2014-08-11_090 (1280x851)

This year, I asked them if they’d like to help me select the supplies. They both shouted a resounding, “NO! We want to be surprised!” Well then. It seems, however, this year I was less apt to choose correctly as they happily swapped several things among themselves.

2014-08-11_092 (1280x851)

We are doing a few things differently this year, so we’ll see how it works. I’ve added all their week’s papers to one binder hoping to cut down on my inability to get things graded in a timely manner. I’m also hoping it saves them some time not having to locate extra books. I’ve also given them each their own assignment book/calendar. I was especially delighted when Michael remarked today, “Mom. Thank you for my book. It really makes things a lot easier.” I love when an idea actually gets executed and then is something valuable at that. You can see Michael’s book and interview HERE and Katie’s HERE. Their yearly interview is on the back cover.

School supplies also include a little sweet something as a treat. The big kids had to wait to eat theirs, but the littles got theirs while waiting for breakfast. I know….I know….terrible parenting, right?! They were happy and quiet waiting for their “big” breakfast to be made.

2014-08-11_099 (1280x851)

Clare was delighted to suck on her lollipop all day. Elizabeth was delighted to try to spend her day stealing it out of Clare’s hand.

2014-08-11_102 (1280x851)

Clare always sits on the front porch and yells goodbye to daddy as he leaves for work. This morning, I sat with her. As we walked into the house, I noticed that a little visitor had been perched behind our heads on the screen. I hear they are good luck. I took it as a first day of school omen. Yippee!

2014-08-11_110 (1280x851)

The first day of pictures are of course a bit of a tradition. It seems hard to believe we’ve been schooling at home for so many years and how much the kids and the dynamic of our house has changed over those years. WOW! Want a trip down memory lane? Here are our first day of school pictures over the years: 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009.

Katie has really grown so much this year. Middle school already!! WOW!!

2014-08-11_199 (1280x851)

Michael starts the year with the classic toothless school picture.

2014-08-11_190 (851x1280)

The pictures of Clare might be a bit overkill, but this girl is seriously a child of many personalities. I couldn’t resist showing several of them to you in this post. She makes life interesting and certainly full! She starts school on Friday (the first of ours TO GO TO SCHOOL), but I was only getting the apple out once. Can you blame me? I’ll post her official first day pics on Friday.

2014-08-11_120 (851x1280)

2014-08-11_151 (1280x851)

2014-08-11_156 (1280x851)

2014-08-11_161 (1280x851)

2014-08-11_171 (1280x851)

2014-08-11_176 (1280x851)

I hope your year brings you this much joy! Blessings to all school kids and their families whether schooling at home or otherwise. It’s sure to be a full year!

2014-08-11_174 (1280x846)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

