Skip to content

Summer Days are Here

June 8, 2014

Oh how I have loved these last two weeks of summer. No school, no extraordinary commitment, new tutoring schedules and lots of summertime fun. We have played and played and played some more.

There’s been lots and lots of reading in our house lately. The kids have both started a new book series and they are seriously in love with their reading. I find Katie, especially, sneaking in as much time as she can find to read. She was never more delighted to have strep throat and have a reason to lay low. I think she read through three entire books in those two days. Sweet girl. Katie highly recommends The 39 Clues series and Michael is loving his Warriors books. Katie loves to read with Clare because it gives her the chance to “snuggle” with Clare. It’s one of the rare times you can find her still and sitting nearby.

2014-06-05_024 (1280x851)

Well, she’s still when she’s sleeping. The summertime days are much longer than “normal” and this girl never wants to miss a bit of it. However, once-in-awhile a nap is necessary.

2014-06-05_028 (1280x851)

Katie still loves her archery Saturdays. It’s also a great time for her to spend some time with daddy.

2014-05-31_004 (851x1280)

Today we enjoyed some time with old friends celebrating their little one’s first birthday. What a special family and what a great afternoon of summertime fun.

2014-06-07_049 (1280x851)

2014-06-07_090 (1280x860)

2014-06-07_032 (1280x852)

2014-06-07_031 (1280x852)

2014-06-07_093 (1280x839)

2014-06-07_055 (1280x852)

These two are truly friends and sisters in the best way. I love that they look for one another. I love that they bring their blankets and toys to one another. I love that they can make each other laugh. I love that they are truly very different kids. I love that they are sisters forever.

2014-06-07_060 (1280x852)

This afternoon, we did the crazy unthinkable, city scenario. The local toy store had a Frozen party holding the promise of meeting and getting your picture taken with the princesses. Well, at least Clare didn’t scream meeting them.

2014-06-07_097 (1280x852)

The girls are delighted with their new toy. A lovely homeschooling family gifted it to us as their littles have outgrown it. What a fun treat for our kids! (Sorry. I have no idea why the quality of the video is so bad. I assume it happened in the uploading process, but I don’t know.)

I hope your summer has started well. Next brings VBS for Michael. Katie is super bummed that she won’t be participating and the wait list for teen volunteers is always astronomically long. She’ll get her own special memories later in the summer, but she’s sad to be letting go of one childhood favorite and a long-time summer activity. I know many a year the kids would count down the days until the start of VBS and they’d rejoice in every moment and simultaneously mourn it was one day closer to the end. Michael is delighted, he’ll get 30 minutes every morning with dad as Daddy will be dropping him off each morning at the church. I don’t know which he is anticipating more. Hope your week is filled with blessings also.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

