Skip to content

Blue! Blue is our new favorite color.

May 14, 2014

It’s a boy!!

2014-05-13 Max ultrasnd (1)

MAXIMILIAN ALFRED due October 2nd.

2014-05-13 Max ultrasnd (2)

Nate & the kids wanted Maximilian from the very beginning. I, however, wasn’t so fond of it. In an attempt to win me over, they all started referring to the babe as Max. For weeks and weeks I heard that name and watched their little smirks back and forth. Sweet!

Today, as the ultrasound tech announced “it’s a boy”, we all rejoiced. Tears fell from my eyes as I “met” our little man and rejoiced in the images of growing perfection flashed upon the screen. The kids of course asked if the name was official, Nate looked over and I nodded ever so slightly. I think there was even greater rejoicing over the name than the gender reveal itself.

So…our sweet baby is named after an incredibly powerful saint and a very holy Franciscan priest. He’s a man of great strength of character and focus, having served the church as the founder of the Militia Immaculata. He was also a missionary in Japan. He is best known as a martyr in the concentration camp in Auschwitz. He volunteered to take the place of another prisoner, a father, who’d been one of ten prisoners selected to die in the starvation chamber as punishment for one prisoner’s escape. As they suffered, Maximilian ministered through the cells portraying God’s love, mercy and hope of eternity. He was the last to die, and in fact, was killed by lethal injection. There are stories of the guards forcing him to look down as none of them wanted to look him in the eye. Nate visited his cell when he was touring Auschwitz. You can read more about him HERE.

Alfred was Nate’s grandfather.

GmaGpaCake

He was a man full of life and joy. He immediately welcomed me when Nate took me to the family farm to meet the grandparents. At 18, he made me feel so special and loved in his home. There was always a sense of great playfulness when you were with Grandpa. He and his wife (our Elizabeth’s namesake) raised 6 great kids in a small farmhouse in Kansas working predominately as a salesman and wheat farmer. We all miss him dearly. R.I.P. Grandpa Al.

As an aside, to our Franciscan University friends, Grandma & Grandpa were married in the “Cathedral of the Plains” highlighted in the latest Franciscan Way (Spring 2014, page 10).

Please pray for continued blessings upon this pregnancy. I’ve added some exercise into my day and am making changes to my diet and feeling better and stronger too. Thankfully, it seems, carrying boys are easier than the girls. Here’s to hoping that trend continues another 19 weeks.

St. Maximilian Kolbe, pray for us!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Lin Clair permalink
    May 14, 2014 7:25 am

    Congratulations. Prayers for continued blessings during the rest of your pregnancy. I am happy it is a boy for Mikey too. Love you.

  2. Kelsie Zeigler permalink
    May 14, 2014 5:56 pm

    This made me tear up! Congratulations! We miss Uncle Al every day!

  3. Auntie Sherry Ruth permalink
    May 18, 2014 6:32 am

    again, so very excited for the blessing of your growing belly with lil Max Al šŸ™‚ Can’t wait to meet him…love you all & prayers will continue for you all!!!! whoo-who, it’s a BOY šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

