Skip to content

A lot of all things wonderful

May 12, 2014

Happy Mother’s Day to all. I hope your day was blessed! Mine was lovely for sure!

Mass at 7:30 a.m. followed by a stop at RaceTrak to pick up our summertime drink cups. What a deal. A cup for everyone and a handful of coupons for free food for Nate and free refills through July 31st. Thanks to the Satriano girls for telling us about it before the cups were sold out for the season.

I was banned from the kitchen following morning Mass and our gas/drink stop. It was the perfect time to sit at the dining room table with Nate and work on next week’s lesson plans for the kids. I could hear Katie concocting in the kitchen but I had no idea this year what she was creating. YUMMY!!

2014-05-11_006 (1280x851)

Such a sweet girl and a fantastic baker. Yummy chocolate chip cookie skillet. Thank you Katie Girl.

2014-05-11_008 (1280x851)

In addition, she has been telling me for weeks and weeks that she had a really great present to give me. Another surprise, it was awesome. Well done Katie. She learned how to do this chain crochet at her American Heritage Girls meeting. I”m so proud of her for finishing it and producing such a great gift too. I love it. I can’t wait for our zinnias to start blooming so I’ll have some fantastic flowers to put in this new vase.

2014-05-11_010 (1280x851)

Michael knows how much I love chocolate strawberries and it’s an easy gift to give for a kitchen novice.

2014-05-11_013 (1280x851)

Thanks buddy. They ARE yummy!!!

2014-05-11_016 (1280x851)

After the yard work was finished (well the kids’ part anyway), we let them turn on the water. The kids were so delighted that the neighborhood came to join in the fun also.

2014-05-11_032 (1280x851)

Elizabeth loved the water table more than the unpredictability of the big kids’ water play.

2014-05-11_033 (851x1280)

Clare, however, wanted to be in both places of course!

2014-05-11_020 (1280x851)

Nate I worked on planting our annual seeds. Oh how much I love zinnias. Hoping for less rain this summer as last year’s bouquets were a bit pathetic. I chose to go with my favorite seeds this year, instead of the value-priced wholesale ones I purchased the last few years. The Park Seed products produce gorgeous blooms and grow so big and strong! Oh I can’t wait for the hot days of summer and to look out onto the patio and be surrounded by such color AND even better to bring that color indoors to place around the house.

2014-05-11_055 (1280x851)

2014-05-11_040 (1280x851)

Several years ago we had the best sunflower plants outside the kitchen window. For weeks, we saw the yellow and blue birds feast on its seeds. Hoping for a repeat visit this summer.

2014-05-11_036 (1280x851)

I had also received a fantastic birthday gift from a facebook friend living in TN. She sent me a box of fresh lilacs AND a lilac cutting to plant and hopefully nurture into my own bush. We’ll see. I said a little prayer as I watered it and packed the dirt around it’s base. It’d be such a special gift to see it grow AND flower! Admittedly, Nate wasn’t so pleased about putting a new “hole” in the yard, but I have great hopes for this little gift! I have been nurturing this little plant indoor until I could find the time for us to get outside and plant it with the right amount of soil improvement. What a sweet gift. I’m so excited and you can bet I’ll be praying over this little plant all year. Now I just have to get a bag of mulch to seal the moisture around this precious little thing.

2014-05-11_047 (1280x851)

We also got the other beds cleaned up and weeded, trimmed the roses, and staked the raspberries. This bush we planted almost 4 years ago and for the first several years, we thought it was a dud. It only produced white berries, never ripening enough to pick them. Ooops. We realized in the third year, that they were actually white berries and incredibly sweet tasting. They are a treasured treat and I’m hopeful this year, we’ll yield even more berries. They make a great little snack for anyone willing to go weed the garden.

2014-05-11_049 (1280x851)

What a great day! I am truly so blessed by a great family and a blessed life. A special shout out to Nate and the kids for honoring me today and helping me get a few things done too. I’m thankful to have this season in our life, a time to be together with less stress, and the gift of growing kids. I’m thankful to have felt healthy enough (and the weather was cool enough) that I could work in the gardens too. So far so good with this little baby & I. We really can’t wait until Tuesday’s gender reveal. Prayers please for that big event and the blessings inevitably showered upon our family. Happy Mother’s Day!!! Thank you to each of you reading this blog and the ways in which you bless my life everyday!! I love you too!

2014-05-11_044 (851x1280)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

