Skip to content

Blessed Good Friday

April 19, 2014

I love that this year Daddy had the day off with PTO even. It was such a gift to share the normalcy of the day and yet the special little traditions that have become part of our Good Friday life with little ones. It’s hard to attend Stations of the Cross at the parish as it is overflowing with people and generally longer than the normal attention span of our youngest. Therefore, for the last several years, we have simply observed some afternoon silence. Each year it looks just a tad different but always includes some guided prayer and activity.

This year, the kids designed their own coloring pages with art from Katie Hadfield. Aren’t her drawings perfect? I love that she provides both a colored version and the stamps. I have used her stamp kits many times for different projects with the kids. I was so delighted to have found her kit just a few days ago and knew instantly just how I wanted to use it. It was the perfect addition to our school day on Thursday morning.

risen (620x618)

I asked them to find a bible passage and to create a picture to go along with the passage they chose. They had free reign and I wasn’t hovering as I was actually tutoring downstairs. They took turns watching the babies, doing their chores, and creating their own coloring page. Michael has been using Gimp (a free photoshop knockoff) for several months with his Minecraft programming course. I was so delighted in his design, but equally delighted in how quickly Katie learned the basics and was able to put together her picture.

2014-04-18_037 (1280x851)

After I was finished tutoring, Michael asked if I would help him with a few things. He knows how to make his momma happy, right?! “Sure son. I’ll share my Gimp love with you. What would you like to do?”

“Well, I want to put Jesus on the cross, but I can’t figure out how to size him correctly, and I don’t know how to nail his feet.” Done. However, we couldn’t figure out the nail dilemma. I think everyone knows the story so please just forgive us for using a risen Christ on the cross. You know his intention.

2014-04-18_036 (1280x851)

Then from 2:00-3:00 p.m. today the kids (and I) were able to color our pictures while observing the sacred time leading up to Jesus’ death on the cross. Daddy chose to read instead.

2014-04-18_034 (1280x851)

We were blessed to have spent the first half hour of silence with our dear friends who had spent the night and day playing at our house. What a gift to share the faith with childhood friends and end a fantastic 24 hours together celebrating Jesus!

2014-04-18_024 (1280x851)

While coloring, we prayed and listened to this amazing scriptural rosary for children. I gave the kids the option of praying the rosary or the Stations of the Cross. Katie declared that the stations makes her too emotional and since she spoke up first, we said the rosary instead.

sorrowful

I love that this version is narrated/prayed by children. I love that it tells the Passion one prayer at a time. It’s the perfect addition to our time of silence, leaving just a little time for quiet, and then to start an Easter movie in the last few minutes. The Sorrowful Mysteries are particularly beautiful when presented in this manner. I love everything we have from these publishers. It’s truly a great addition to our media library. I only wish we had every one of their audio saint stories. They are truly our first love.

The babies found their own ways to celebrate the silence. HA.

2014-04-18_027 (1280x898)

2014-04-18_031 (1280x870)

As our Good Friday wraps up, I want to leave you with this most incredible rendition of Hallelujah. It’s truly spectacular. Her voice is anointed for sure and the words so very perfect our Good Friday celebrations. Admittedly, I listened to it this morning for the first time before even getting out of bed. I love it and what a way to both start and end Good Friday.

Blessings to you and your family in this sacred Triduum.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 25, 2014 12:30 am

    Oh wow, what fabulous colouring pages your children created! Thank you so much for choosing my drawings to work with, you have really made my day! Thanks for allowing my designs to be a part of your family traditions and celebrations.
    All best wishes,
    Kate Hadfield

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

