Skip to content

Happy Siblings Day

April 11, 2014

A trip to Build-a-Bear was in order. Neither of the babies had been yet and a half price coupon was burning a hole in this momma’s pocket. Michael inherited Elizabeth’s bear as we couldn’t even convince her to be interested. Katie girl was all over the 1D bear. It’s been in her bed every night since. Clare calls her puppy her “Tebby bear” and brings it down with her every morning. Too sweet. She liked bathing it the best!
2014-03-27_025 (1280x851)

Clare loves to read and Katie loves to read to her. Elizabeth loves to climb on EVERYTHING. These three girls are really great together.
2014-04-05_030 (1280x883)

Katie can even get Clare to take a late afternoon nap with a long story. Bad news for timing, but great for Katie’s heart. She loves it when Clare sits with her.
2014-04-08_073 (1280x851)

Love these girls.
2014-04-07_061 (1280x820)

I’m so thankful for the neighborhood boys especially. Although Katie enjoys playing with them, Michael loves the boy camaraderie. There are always Nerf Wars or basketball games or football or any number of outdoor games. Rarely do they spend time indoors, but often I find them here to play games or with the babies. The 3C’s, as the kids so lovingly refer to them, are special kids and of course Reilly is a dear friend!
2014-04-06_049 (1280x851)

He’s also been learning to jump rope. I love his energy and independence. He’s determined to learn new things. Most recently it’s been jump roping, but he also has been practicing dribbling and shooting baskets whenever he can find a goal. (I think we might have to invest this summer.)
2014-04-10_111 (1280x851)

Who doesn’t love a little ice cream while finishing homework. Michael has been trying really hard to finish his schoolwork by 1:00 so that he can do his Minecraft ModDesign 1 class while I tutor. It’s been a great motivation. Now if only I could get him to not make careless math mistakes.
2014-04-08_067 (1280x851)

Clare loves to bring me bouquets. Michael actually taught her to gather them and give them to mom. I love it! (Although I seriously hate the fact that dandelions are already growing in our yard.)
2014-04-09_090 (1280x852)

She also seriously loves her princess dresses. In fact, every skirt becomes a princess outfit. She has resorted to finding some of Elizabeth’s skirts to squeeze into. I guess her princess costume and her one tutu just aren’t cutting it anymore.
2014-04-08_079 (960x1280)

Although walking Murray, the neighbor’s dog, is really Katie’s job, Clare is convinced she’s part of the process also. In fact, we will pull into the neighborhood and she’ll ask, “Walk Muway?”
2014-04-10_104 (1280x851)

Elizabeth is at a fantastic stage right now, mostly happy and full of life. She’s discovering everything and changing so very much. Today, she shared some Monster Trail Mix with me. It’s my favorite and naturally she thinks she has a right to everything I have in my hands. Nope. Just have your own today little girl.
2014-04-08_081 (1280x851)

Katie is so bummed that she has now read all of Riordan’s books in all the series he has currently written. She finished the last pages after lunch today. I love that they have both found a writer they like. I love that the books are not a quick read. I love that I can hear them laughing as they read and sharing stories with each other. Michael is finishing up the first in the Kane Chronicles, but already begging Katie to tell him the details in #2 & #3. Katie recently found out he’s writing the Jupiter series next. I don’t know for sure, but she’s already asked permission to pre-order it. Thank you Nate for inspiring the kids to be readers!
2014-04-10_098 (1280x851)

So…our week is always full of life, lots of noise, activity, and sure to be a few moments of insanity too.

I’m thankful for the warmer weather and the spring loveliness, but I’m especially thankful for the rain mid-week that washed away all our pollen at least for a few days. Sadly, this year, we have all been slammed with the dreaded allergies. I guess it was bound to happen living in the south, but I was not prepared! At any rate, our blueberries are growing and although we dug up all the strawberries last year, we are looking forward to visiting the strawberry farm for our own u-pick goodies.
2014-04-09_095 (1280x851)

Happy spring all!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Lin Clair permalink
    April 11, 2014 6:31 pm

    Love each post of your life and to see the kids and somewhat stay connected. Beautiful. Love all of you. Xoxo

  2. Auntie Sherry Ruth permalink
    April 17, 2014 5:09 am

    love your storytelling Sara Lin; such a gift that never gets old to those blessed to be able to share your life through them. I miss all of you & the kids are getting so big but thank you for always taking the time in your oh so busy life to post wonderful memories. We love you dearly! kisses to all!!!!

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

