Skip to content

It’s Epiphany Sunday!

January 5, 2014

Happy feast of the three kings. Today is also our family Christmas celebration (in honor of the Kings) and one that comes with a great sense of fulfillment this year. The older kids were especially independent with their gift making and I’m happy we spent very little to fulfill our homemade gift giving scenario. I helped extremely little as Katie & Michael were able to imagine and create the perfect, thoughtful, and intentional gift for the other members of the family. Actually, I helped Daddy fulfill his gifts more than I helped the kids. LOVE IT! What I’m especially thankful for this year is the joy and anticipation on their faces as they GAVE their gifts. There was such profound joy. The photos in today’s posts aren’t the best in composition or color or clarity, but I hope you can see the pure joy and excitement in our after breakfast moments. I love these kids. I love when, with adult eyes, we can see the fruits of our parenting and the grace we hope is building in the hearts and souls of our children.

2014-01-05_169

2014-01-05_048

Katie was so excited to give me my gift and begged me through the entire celebration to go wash my hands. I was sad to disappoint her, but she was overwhelmed again with joy when daddy and Michael joined us at the kitchen sink for some exfoliating and moisturizing joys. She had made this during a sleepover several weeks ago and was intent on gifting it to me. She discreetly asked what my favorite doTerra EO’s were and which coconut oil would be okay to use. I chose Lemon and Wild Orange. YUMMY! Sweet girl, this was mighty impressive!! I’m ready to do it again. You just might have to make me another batch soon!

Daddy gave me 12 handyman coupons to redeem each month. Yes. They come with expirations. He covered his butt with this gift that keeps on giving. HA! What to do in January?? Recaulk and regrout the master shower. Thanks honey!

2014-01-05_087

Michael has known for months that he wanted to gift me chocolate covered strawberries. They are indeed my most favorite treat!!

2014-01-05_158

2014-01-05_088

Realizing that buying them was going to be difficult and defeated the purpose, he went shopping with daddy to get strawberries. Thanks to a Christmas gift I received, he already had access to chocolate and a safe fondue warmer. Perfect little buddy! You did great. I LOVE them! Yes. I did eat almost the entire plate on my own.

2014-01-05_176

Daddy got from me, a few designs to upload to our bank’s website and select a personalized debit card. It’s a request he made when we opened the account so many years ago. Hopefully, they still offer it and I designed the template at the right size for uploading. HA! Katie printed a prayer to St. Joseph for workers. By chance, her google search led her (unbeknownst to her) to the prayer daddy prays every morning after arriving at work. You can find it HERE.

Look at the excitement on Michael’s face. He made his daddy a picture of himself to adhere to his work coaster.

2014-01-05_065

2014-01-05_068

Katie’s gift from me was the photo frame; a personal affirmation for her to soar and believe if she can dream it, she can do it. ($6 for the frame & print.)

2014-01-05_165

Daddy wrote her a beautiful love letter.

2014-01-05_112

Michael created Ron & Hermione for Katie. He knew they were her favorite characters and he was so giddy to reveal his present to her.

2014-01-05_090

Daddy gifted Michael targets for his air-soft guns. They are built in such a way as to contain the bullets for reuse later. Awesome and less than a $1 for printing costs.

2014-01-05_118

2014-01-05_089

Although, I don’t quite understand all the Minecraft details and scenarios, I know that this boy LOVES it.

2014-01-05_105

I was so happy and excited to see what Katie had created for Michael. She hand painted him a grass and cobblestone block.

2014-01-05_076

Daddy needed a little help to come up with an idea for Clare, but this rocks. We used scrap wood from the garage and stickers and scrapbook paper gifted to us by an old friend. Thanks Suzanne. Your goodies are still being used in our house. Last night, we were up so stinking late adding a layer of mod podge to each of these pieces, front and back. Okay. So I’m not such a procrastinator, but I am a loving mom and will gladly help with a craft when needed. She loves them!

2014-01-05_179

2014-01-05_146

Michael gifted her a Perler Bead Mickey Mouse. So sweet.

2014-01-05_049

Katie made her a great batch of homemade play-doh. It’s a recipe that a dear mom made for my classroom so many years ago. It smells fantastic and is edible should it find it’s way into a little one’s mouth. Thanks Katie Girl…it brought me down memory lane also. I love this recipe!! (Find it here.)

2014-01-05_057

Elizabeth’s gifts were so sweet. The shadow box was a gift from both daddy and I as the frame cost more than everyone’s gift combined. With the frame and printing, her gift was around $20. Sweet though. Now, I just have to locate her hospital hat and onesie. It must be in her infant clothes box, I hope. Daddy and I combined efforts and gifted this to her.

2014-01-05_172

2014-01-05_150

Katie made her a tutu after learning last year how to make them during an AHG event.

2014-01-05_078

Michael made her a little Mickey ornament because she is always happy and she likes the same things Clare likes.

2014-01-05_094

Every year Clare has received a hand print picture. It’s a fun little thing we have done together and of course it makes my mommy heart happy to see that little print grow bigger. The first year, it was her foot. Such a sweet little baby.

2014-01-05_126

So…happy new year. Happy Epiphany. Happy Christmas celebrations. For a few more hours, we will celebrate here. Friends are coming over now to decorate gingerbread men and then it’s pizza for dinner. After dinner, we’ll take down the decorations and be ready to start the week. Nate begins a new job on Monday and the kids will begin school on Monday and officially a full load on Tuesday. Hope you and your family are starting the year filled with memories and traditions of your own. Our love to you. Merry Christmas.

(BTW…our photo cards were printed in error and still have not been received from the publishers. I’m afraid they are going to be REALLY late. I might just save them now for Valentine’s day. We’ll see. I’ll post our family pictures on the blog in the upcoming days.)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Auntie Sherry permalink
    January 23, 2014 4:49 am

    Oh what joy your blog posts & sweet pictures brings to my heart when I finally take the time to sit down & enjoy them. What awesome memories you are creating for all your children & what sweet souls Katie, Michael have because of it! YOU ARE the most compassionate Mom & love that you take the time to share all of your lives with those who can’t be with you day to day! Maybe someday 🙂 Love you all!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

