Skip to content

Homeschool Christmas Drawing Workshop

November 22, 2013

I’m happy you have found this invitation page. I can’t wait to host this Zentangle drawing class. I’ve been so fascinated by this new-to-me Zentangle craze. I’ve been stalking Pinterest for ideas. You can see my board of ideas HERE.

zentangle

Zentangle drawing offers so many benefits and is achievable by anyone with the patience to draw simple lines in creative patterns. You can read all about it HERE. It’s really very awesome.

In an attempt to share my new-found love for this doodling style, I’m hosting a drawing class for child and/or adult. Here’s what we’ll be drawing. (The patterns will change, but you get the concept.)

2013-11-22_006 (1280x851)

I also encourage you to consider this class as a means for your child to gift this Christmas two of their own creations. You are invited to bring a 5×7″ frame and a gift bag with tissue paper if you’d like us to help him/her wrap it up ready for placing under the tree.

2013-11-22_008 (1280x851)

Please bring with you a black pen or two. (If you forget, you’ll use a pencil instead.) I highly recommend a permanent pen/marker that won’t smear on our glossy paper. I have found the Nano-Liner to be a great option and economically priced also. Hobby Lobby has them for $1.99 each in their art supplies section. Be sure to use your coupon for an even greater discount. These pens have a harder tip with constant ink flow. They are also dry almost on contact. I’d encourage a younger child to use a 02 size and older students who are presumably more adept at controlling a thicker pen could use a size 05. The 0.5mm size is my favorite.

Where: Post Road Library

When: December 9th ~ 1:00-3:00 p.m.

What: Zentangle Drawing Class

Bring: Black fine tip, permanent pen & wrapping supplies if you choose to gift your drawing, and $0.25 to cover printing costs

Who: Students 3rd grade or older & parents/grandparents

Due to the nature of these intricate patterns, this class requires a bit of patience to complete the design and in a uniform manner. This uniformity and precision is an important element in the Zentangle design style. I encourage the serious younger artist and all older students (even those who don’t think of themselves as artistic) to participate. Please invite your friends. Parents are also invited of course to draw along with us. However, given the intricacy of this drawing project, please no young children in the room.

I plan to start by guiding participants in completing this stocking which will be a collection of beginner designs and a general concept of Zentangle drawing.

The second drawing can either be a blank stocking (no name) or the angel if the artist is ready for something a little more intricate. There is so much potential with this particular design. Isn’t her outline pretty?!

I can’t wait to see your creativity shine and share this drawing style with you. Please post questions in the comments below and don’t forget to RSVP below also. Please include your name (I’ll have it typed on your stocking) and age or grade.

See you Monday the 9th!

As an aside. I am not a trained artist. Just someone who likes to draw, likes to teach, and likes to share things I love.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. trina permalink
    November 23, 2013 3:39 am

    Liyah, 6th grade and Trina, grad student 🙂 (but not in art!!)

  2. Jim permalink
    November 24, 2013 6:11 pm

    I will attend alone. Kim

  3. trina permalink
    November 24, 2013 6:51 pm

    I am going to bring three other 6th grade girls with me. Laney, Lydia and Kaylyn

  4. Keri Coggins permalink
    December 9, 2013 3:28 am

    I will be there w/ my daughters Abby and Chloe. Abby is 4th grade and I will have Chloe help me b/c she is in 2nd grade. Thank you!

  5. Doreen Hamilton permalink
    December 9, 2013 5:43 am

    I will be bringing 2 3rd graders. Thanks!

    • December 9, 2013 5:57 am

      Doreen, do you want personalized stockings for them? Stockings with their name on it? I look forward to seeing you!

Leave a Reply

