Skip to content

Minecraft Mania

November 20, 2013

minecraft

Oh my goodness! Michael is so in love with Minecraft. We resisted the begging for many, many months before finally giving in and loading it onto their tablets. Then they begged if they could use their allowance to purchase the computer version. With that then came the opportunity to participate in the Minecraft Homeschool classes and an entirely new world has just opened up for him. I love that Katie is interested in it also, but she has so many interests in this life that we don’t equate Minecraft as an obsession for her. For Michael, he dreams about it even.

I love that he’s constantly researching and thinking of new ways to make something work or incorporate a story into his latest world. I love that when they meet someone who also loves Minecraft, they start sharing ideas. I love that their neighborhood friend comes over almost daily just to spend a quick moment looking at any updates and sharing any new tips he’s acquired in the last few hours. I love that there’s the potential for some unbelievable programming and developing should he stick with this crazy little game of blocks and colors and animation. The scales were tipped when I started seeing blog posts on homeschool boards and gifted education sites regarding the potential of this game. Here we go.

Admittedly, I am stil a bit ignorant of the whole thing, and the game itself sort of makes me motion sick. I’ve successfully left the majority of the minecraft discussions between Nate and him. However, given that Michael is with me all day, I often hear (in the middle of his school lessons) an idea he’s been concocting while I’ve been trying to convey something of great academic importance. I just keep reminding myself to channel this interest as it’s a profound interest for sure.

On a normal school day, the kids are counting down the minutes until 4:00 when electronic time begins. Today, they decided to delay their screen time for the opportunity to watch a movie as a family after dinner. Instead, there was some minecraft crafting to be done

2013-11-19_046 (1280x851)

2013-11-19_052 (1280x851)

In fact, it was so appealing, they spent several hours straight building their creations (thanks to Pinterest) and very inexpensive plastic beads. Aren’t they cool?

Here are Katie’s creations.

2013-11-19_048 (1280x851)

She has worked all afternoon AND evening on this one and still isn’t finished. Very, very impressive though. She has visions of maybe even linking the boards together and creating a larger picture. Cool!

2013-11-20_059 (1280x851)

Michael had definite ideas as to what he wanted to create today. He’s saving his most favorite designs for his birthday party on Saturday. He wants to make the diamond pick ax with his buddy.

Here is his lava bucket.

2013-11-20_055 (1280x851)

The skeleton head is his favorite.

2013-11-19_047 (1280x920)

Every minecraft “play” has to utilize the value of gold, right?!

2013-11-20_058 (1280x851)

Here’s the one I’m working on but can’t finish until we acquire a few more of the pink beads. HA.

2013-11-20_060 (1280x851)

Meanwhile, how do you allow the big kids to keep working when screen time is over for the 2 year old and the baby wants to be underfoot AND there’s dinner to be made? You bring the kids outside with you. However, Clare was hungry and Elizabeth just wants to eat EVERYTHING she can pick up. I had to quickly consider plan B! Hhhmmm. Enter the stroller.

2013-11-19_054 (1280x852)

2013-11-19_053 (1280x855)

It’s never a dull moment here. I love peaceful afternoons though and am so thankful for the simplicity of today. There are so many more ideas on Pinterest for their love of this game. Check out some of our favorites HERE.

Do you allow your kids to play? Do you play? Why? I’d love to hear your thoughts on this subject.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

