Skip to content

We are a Eucharistic People

May 11, 2013

Today our 2nd grade PSR class made their first communion.

2013-05-11_043 (1280x917)

It’s been such an honor to prepare them and watch them grow throughout the year. It’s my first year in 2nd grade after having taught 1st grade for the last 7 years.

2013-05-11_038 (1280x960)

They have experienced so many emotions this year from intrigue with the lesson content, fear in facing their sins (and Father) in their Reconciliation, wonder about tasting the Eucharist, and of course the celebration of today.

2013-05-11_032 (1280x960)

They were so proud to done their new clothes, come sit together for one last time, process into the church, and of course get the chance to become one with Christ in a way that they are experiencing for the first time this afternoon.

2013-05-11_033 (1280x960)

Such holiness in these young hearts. There is something really renewing in being able to experience the Eucharist through the anticipation of young innocence and purity.

2013-05-11_029 (1280x960)

Having shared in Katie’s graces two years ago as our first to receive this sacrament, there was something really special about today’s sacramental moments. I could watch the children receive Jesus and bring him to their mouth knowing concretely what it took to be here in this moment. Just as you share certain heartfelt moments as a parent, tonight I got to share it as a catechist with similar movements of the heart.

2013-05-11_027 (1280x959)

The kids received and I offered my own personal prayer for each of them in that moment, but I also was washed in my own moments of grace…those moments when you can almost tangibly feel the wind of the Holy Spirit upon your arms and the back of your neck as you get what I call “the holy chills”. The Spirit was indeed present and the graces real within this beautiful church filled with souls near and dear to Jesus’ heart.

2013-05-11_026 (1280x960)

As Father reminded us, I pray that you will always act as though you believe in Jesus’s grace. I’m so proud of you! I’m honored to have shared it with me. Thank you for blessing me too! To the parents, thank you for sharing your children with us, for making our faith important in your home, and for bringing new life to our Church with the graces of your children’s soul. Happy Mother’s Day to all the mothers. May you rejoice in the love of this weekend!

One Comment leave one →
  1. mom permalink
    May 12, 2013 6:17 am

    Wonderful day for all of you!!!! Thank you for being there to help them all on their way back home to the Father in grace! xoxoxoxoxo

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

