Skip to content

Strawberries are for picking

May 10, 2013

Yep. Despite the fact that we have been out of the house everyday this week, I was lured to the strawberry patch for their Red Alert Special – Buy 2, Get 1.

2013-05-09_012 (1280x851)

It’s crazy really to drive an hour to pick berries, but they are so juicy and it’s so much fun to come home and prepare them for our year of strawberry ice cream. The ice cream is really that good that I couldn’t imagine not restocking the freezer. So…we piled into the car with the ipod for musical entertainment, and we drove, enjoying the sunshine that has been ellusive this week.

2013-05-09_013 (1280x851)

What a beautiful morning!

2013-05-09_020 (1280x851)

They weren’t kidding! The bushes were indeed loaded with berries! However, sadly the rain really had taken its toll and many of them were rotten.

2013-05-09_027 (851x1280)

2013-05-09_026 (1280x851)

However, as Katie said, sometimes you are lucky enough to just hit the motherload of ripe berries.

2013-05-09_037 (1280x851)

2013-05-09_028 (1280x851)

It really didn’t take long for Mikey to be over this berry picking adventure. He was hot, tired, and bored out of his mind. Really, I think he was mostly just frustrated that the berries weren’t all worth picking.

2013-05-09_049 (1280x851)

It was cumbersome to have to sort through the ripe from the overripe and the few that just weren’t ripe enough. Poor guy. He tried not to complain as him and his sister were the biggest proponents of this adventure and I warned them even before agreeing to make the drive that it entailed filling an entire bucket each AND they had to help prepare the puree over the next two days.

2013-05-09_035 (1280x851)

Michael might have been “over it”, but this girl was all about her buckets. She was so possessive of HERS and proud to carry it through the rows of berries. So…now I’m done sitting and its time to finish canning this puree for this year’s ice cream feasting. If you like homemade ice cream, here’s your recipe. It’s really the best thing ever!!!! You can find the recipe HERE.

Happy summer all. It’s finally starting to shine brightly here!

As an aside…I’ve been so delighted with the mother’s day blog posts floating around this year. Here’s one I read tonight that I find myself still pondering. I love A Holy Experience.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Auntie Sherry permalink
    May 11, 2013 5:35 am

    love your stories, can’t ever get enough of them! It looks like GREAT fun at least for a little while 🙂 Your pictures of the strawberries were beautiful! Love seeing life through your eyes & sharing your family as well. Love you all so very much!

  2. May 11, 2013 9:02 am

    Holy Moley, that is a strawberry patch! My strawberries are like an inch tall now. I mean the plants are an inch tall. We have a lot of growing to do before I get berries like that!

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

