Skip to content

There is such goodness in the world!

April 28, 2013

Happy birthday to me!

2013-04-26_081 (1280x851)

I received the most amazing birthday gift this year and it came from a lady I’ve never met.

2013-04-26_095 (1280x851)

Born premature, my grandmother and an aunt sprinted to the hospital in a neighboring state to welcome me to the world. On the way, they stopped and picked a bouquet of lilacs found growing wild along the side of the road. The bouquet was so large and the scent so strong, that mom actually asked they be removed from her recovery room. For most of my childhood, I received my bouquet of flowers. My Grano has been gone for 16 years and I’ve been gone from Kansas a little longer.

2013-04-26_110 (851x1280)

When this bouquet arrived from TN, I was transported to my childhood and the sentiments of birthdays growing up. Somehow, I could almost feel my Grano smiling and sitting with me as I breathed in the scent of these my most favorite flower. I know she used angel wings to get them to me in one piece. They are such a delicate flower!! The lady who mailed them, surprised me getting them here on Friday, her father’s birthday. He passed away last fall leaving with her a beautiful teaching…when you are feeling down, make someone smile. Today, she has made me smile through my tears. What a beautiful gift. Thank you!! I hope one day to meet you in person! I may have to drive to TN every April.

922551_617221151641209_1410868029_o

Birthdays in our house begin with ice cream at breakfast. My favorite…drumsticks! Oh yummy! (BTW…I guess maybe we are dyslexic. I am really not 63!)

2013-04-27_DSC_2863

After breakfast, I took a nap while Elizabeth napped. Oh yea!! Lunch at Chili’s and then a movie! What a cute movie. We all loved it and can’t wait to see it again on DVD. It’s the first movie Clare has really watched. She sat in her chair and enjoyed her bowl of popcorn (yea for me for remembering to bring individual bowls). Thankfully, we also got the first row seating behind the handicap seats so no one in front of us. This gave her some movement room also. She did great, but missed her nap. Taking a photo sent her over the edge!

2013-04-27_064 (960x1280)

The weather was beautiful (despite the rain they had predicted) and the perfect reason to visit a “new to us” park.

2013-04-27_DSC_2870 (1280x851)

A little playground time and the chance to kick around a soccer ball, throw a football and love playing frisbee!!

2013-04-27_DSC_2879 (1280x851)

I love our park afternoons.

2013-04-27_DSC_2889 (1280x851)

Grabbed a pizza on our way home, put Clare in bed early, and Daddy read another chapter in the Harry Potter book. A lovely day.

2013-04-27_DSC_2904 (1280x851)

Thank you to all who wished me well from the many, many facebook messages to the text messages, skype, phone calls, and a drop by delivery also. It was a great day and I feel incredibly blessed! Love to all of you!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. mom permalink
    April 28, 2013 6:47 am

    You are very deserving of all the love sent your way today both on earth and from heaven!!! May many blessings come your way in this year too!!! Love you!!!!

  2. April 28, 2013 8:01 am

    What a lovely story about the flowers. It sounds like you had a fabulous day. Haappy belated birthday! 😄

  3. Auntie Sherry permalink
    April 30, 2013 5:11 am

    After reading your story of the lilacs Sara Lin, I too, was transported & if memory serves me still, I was the Auntie that came with your Grano, my Mom to Kearney, NE when you were born so early. I can still remember walking into the hospital to see you & your Dad was holding you in the palm of his hand. You FIT into his palm being so very, very tiny & we knew then that God put you here for many many reasons & with lots of gifts too! One of which is your amazing compassion for all those you come into contact with, thus the reason an almost acquaintance sent you flowers. I agree with your Mom, YOU deserve lilacs delivered EVERY DAY for all the selfless acts you do each day to make someone else smile! I love you dearly & am so very proud of the amazing Mother & woman you have become!

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

