Skip to content

Spring is almost here

March 25, 2013

Despite the seemingly extremely cold temperatures for this time of year, I can see signs of spring all around us here. The trees are blooming bringing there oohs and aahs as we drive through town. The daffodils and tulips have all poked their heads through the soggy ground and there are even more birds flying through the sky. I’m starting to get the desire to return to the yard preparing the flower beds for our yearly sprinkling of zinnia seeds. We love our hearty summertime flowers. They make such fantastic cut flowers and never disappoint in attracting the hummingbirds, yellow finches and butterflies to our patio area. Although it’s rainy and cold here, I’m delighted that the warmer temperatures are just around the corner. In the meantime, I’m going to enjoy the spring color just a while longer, prepare for our holy week and anticipate the joys of Easter immensely!

It was so fun to have received a package from Kansas this week and it’s contents just further reason to rejoice and anticipate spring even more. Aunt Sherry had to have spent hours upon hours crafting these shirts for us. I am so in love with this color combination and the collection of patterns in her chosen fabric. They make me happy, especially on these dreary rainy days. It also makes me happy that an impromptu photoshoot sends my children into such despair. Thanks Aunt Sherry for the kids’ Easter book, our adorable shirts (as Katie would say), and the chocolates too of course.

easter shirts (1280x498)

Friday last week was the perfect day to spend crafting. It was the start of our rainy & cold weather and I was antsy to do something creative. Some moms would take their 6-year-old son to a sports store or somewhere fun when you have a few hours to kill waiting on an older sister to finish her writing class, but he (and the two babies) get drug with me to the scrapbooking store instead. It seems Thursday is Archiver’s make and take days. Michael is my artsy one anyway so he really doesn’t mind. In fact, he gets just a tad excited at the prospect of a pending project. This week I caved. I picked up the paper and this scoring board with my 50% coupon and we were committed to making our own adorable Easter baskets. In fact, we made 30 of them in one afternoon. It helps when you get the older sister to help and you allow a little TV time in the process. They are a little more inclined to see the (maybe just a little) over-ambitious project through to the end. This is the one Michael made at Archiver’s.

2013-03-22-_219 (1280x852)

Here’s a very rare tutorial Katie helped me put together. It’s so easy!! (I know a real photographer and blogger would have taken these pictures in natural light for a more appealing presentation, but this is what you get. I have limited time these days.)

2013-03-22_2015 (1280x851)

Start with a 6″x6″ double-sided piece of cardstock. Of course, you will want something bright and cheery for the spring season. You’ll score it at 2″ intervals both vertically and horizontally.

2013-03-22_002 (1280x889)

Add the corner insert to the scoring board and score the corners diagonally.

2013-03-22_004 (1280x852)

Using a very small hole punch, punch a hole on the crease of the paper, near each corner.

2013-03-22_006 (1280x852)

Fold on your vertical and horizontal scored lines.

2013-03-22_009 (1280x851)

Fold the corner diagonal lines.

2013-03-22_010 (1280x852)

Contort (I like that word) your folds so they face the middle.

2013-03-22_013 (1280x866)

Add a thin string or ribbon and tie a knot near the center to hold the corners together. You can then tie a pretty bow or leave the string longer to create a handle like ours here.

2013-03-22_016 (1280x878)

Add a little Easter embellishment and you are all set to fill with goodies and deliver. For our bunny, I simply found a clipart image online, resized it in Microsoft Word and printed several copies. I then folded my white cardstock in half, laid the printed bunny on top, and cut around it leaving a “die cut” cardstock image. The kids then drew in the face and added a bit of color and we taped it to our little baskets. I love their little personal touch making each one just a tiny bit different. (Why didn’t I just print directly onto cardstock? Because our laser printer’s ink on cardstock seems to smear off. Also, I didn’t want to have to cut the printed images perfectly on the lines. This way I could cut several at a time very quickly and then the kids could add their own personality to the bunny’s face.) They are cute, right?

2013-03-22-_224 (1280x457)

2013-03-22-_225 (1280x855)

I also made some for my nephew’s firetruck birthday party. I might be a little obsessed with this easy little project.

2013-03-23_022 (1280x419)

As an aside…just to balance my recent posts…this Monday morning has been great!
A random act of kindness (and a dear friend) brought a Venti Carmel Apple Spice to my doorstep while I was still in my pajamas having not yet eaten my own breakfast. I was able to sip on it while writing this post. Michael has finished his online portion of school and is playing happily upstairs in the nursery with Clare. Elizabeth is sleeping next to me in the bassinet and Katie is in the other room doing her schoolwork. So…peace reigns and this momma is ready to tackle my Monday cleaning list and finish Michael’s language arts lessons. Surely Clare is happy and will allow us to work for an hour or so, right?!

Happy spring all!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. mom permalink
    March 25, 2013 7:41 pm

    Great job Aunt Sherry! They are great!!!! Sara thanks for the tutorial…you all are awesome at this basket thing! Jen loved to Julius take home treats too! Glad you are back to making some time for you too! XOXOXOX

  2. Auntie Sherry permalink
    March 26, 2013 4:51 am

    AWWWWW seeing your sweet lil cherubs in the Easter goodies made my whole Holy Week! I’m not thinking Mikey is too thrilled with his though…lol! Glad you all liked them & love the hair bob lil Clare is wearing too! Can’t wait to see you in yours Sara Lin 🙂 Love you all!

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

