Skip to content

a real-life moment in time – sometimes you just have to laugh

March 7, 2013

Oh “heavenly” moments of peace. Let me paint the picture of our afternoon. (Nate, this post is for you…you can’t complain that I neglected to blog about it!)

We arrived home after a morning out. (As an aside, I’m still getting used to the dynamic of two bodies in and out of the stroller/car seat, etc.) Pulling into the driveway, I realize I have two sleeping babies. Ellie gets brought in first still strapped into her infant seat. Clare, I take straight to bed (after searching the upstairs for her blanket). A quick load of laundry and picking up Clare’s toys downstairs and I’m ready to sit down to do some schoolwork with Michael. Sitting together on the couch, we are happily and quite peacefully zooming through his lessons. I’m content knowing that my within-eye-shot view is clean and the house has some semblance of order (i.e. clean and quiet). That makes this momma quite happy.

As if by perfect timing, Michael and I finish just as Ellie is waking. She’s hungry and naturally at least 30 minutes beyond “due” to eat. Of course, I notice her diaper has leaked (a first I must admit).

Oh my!!! Little did I know that she had been sitting in it for a while…dried and everywhere – up the front and back! An attempt using wet wipes is quickly deemed futile. She must simply have a bath.

Yep. I’m a mom of four…not so concerned with protocol. This momma just needs efficient and fast. Remember, I’m on borrowed time anyway as this little girl’s belly is surely screaming at her.

Do I take the time to disinfect the kitchen sink so I can bathe her. Nope. She’s surely small enough. I’ll simply grab a bowl from the cabinet.

Letting the water from the faucet warm up to a suitable bathing temperature, holding the 15 day old ever so precariously so as not to have to change myself also, I suddenly realize there’s water splashing. However, sadly, it’s not water. Yep. She has created a rather large pee puddle on the kitchen floor covering not only my shoes but my pants as well. Guess I’ll be changing afterall! I throw the “within reach” kitchen towels onto the floor using my peed-on shoes to wipe it up and still holding the dried poop covered babe away from me.

A little soap and warm water and I can now bathe the babe. Seeing the perfect photo opp moment (afterall how long will she be small enough to fit into a bowl this size), I holler out to my assistant (A.K.A. Michael, our 6-year-old son) to grab the camera for me. Of course, the baby is now screaming (for multiple reasons I’m sure), and this momma loses her patience at the 6-year-old’s lack of speed in setting up his shot. It’s just another moment to keep me humble. “I’m sorry Michael for getting frustrated.”

2013-03-07_049 (1280x851)

A dirty diaper on the floor in the family room, pee soaked towels in the kitchen, wet pants for me, and a dirty outfit will just have to sit a while longer. This momma has a clean baby to nurse.

As luck would have it, now I’m changing my shirt also. Good golly. When will I learn?! This one is indeed a projectile vomit-er.

Sometimes you just have to laugh and look around you to see the blessings of life in different forms.

Right now, covered in pee and vomit, I’m thankful for the new toy Michael found at the consignment store today, for the fact that he convinced me Clare just had to have it, and for the gift of his camaraderie with her that he happily takes the time (while I’m nursing) to teach Clare how to enjoy this new toy.

2013-03-07_057 (1280x913)

If nothing else, I’ve learned that perspective is a chosen opportunity for despair or grace. Today, I’m thankful for having chosen the joy. Today, I choose to laugh. Right now the big kids are playing in the 60 degree weather with a neighborhood friend and Clare is happily watching her friend Barney on TV. As for me, I choose to keep this babe snuggled up on my chest just a bit longer and savor all that’s content around me. However, I really should go change, start another load of laundry, and think about making some dinner. Nope. Not yet. I’m here just a bit longer to savor this moment for what it is…peace in its own way.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Auntie Sherry permalink
    March 8, 2013 5:15 am

    Sara Lin your view on your life is full of wit, charm, grace & most of all patience! God bless you for being able to enjoy all that HE has filled your plate with on this day. As for me, I’m going to go take a nap as I’m EXHAUSTED just listening to all that came your way today. I love you so & wish we were closer to come lend a couple hands 🙂 LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the moment you were able to capture with baby Ellie in her bath bowl…how precious..someday you shall get paid for your talents! HE will certainly see to that as you have such an amazing gift between your writing & photography talents!

  2. Gerise Vignaroli permalink
    March 8, 2013 7:49 am

    OMG that is hysterical!!! I’m with your momma…I remember those days but I’m pretty sure I didn’t handle it with such grace either!!! I sure hope you are documenting/saving these blog posts because they are going to classic some day!!! 🙂 Love it!!! Breathe in the little moments dear….they do leave the nests and you will be wishing you could snuggle them just one more moment!!! Love you xoxo!!!

  3. Rebecca Webster permalink
    March 10, 2013 5:17 am

    I am in awe at how you do it all…. Love you!!

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

