Skip to content

Day #2 – It all begins

February 21, 2013

What a day of gifts for me! With the kids getting older, there’s more logistics to plan in this hospital stay than there was even 19 months ago. It seems that everyone is in different directions. Today it meant that Nate was with Katie in Gwinnett from 9-5, Anna was home with Michael & Clare, and I was at the hospital by myself. How glorious in its own right. I was so blessed to spend the morning with a dear friend…so relaxed and uninterrupted by anything. How lovely and rare for this momma.

2013-02-21_026 (1280x851)

Mid-day was quiet and relaxing on my own…a little baby snuggle time. The late afternoon was graced by another dear friend’s presence…just more fantastic girl time – laughs, labor stories, reminiscing and reminders of the preciousness of this time. Thank you sweet women for your presence in my life and the time today. You honor me!

2013-02-21_029 (1280x870)
(Sorry Lolly that I forgot to get out of the camera this morning. I was gloriously distracted by other very important things…our time together!)

2013-02-21_004 (1280x851)

Banana, thanks for taking Clare & Michael today. We’ll catch up when I get home. It was a little distracting this afternoon when you stopped.

2013-02-21_032 (1280x851)

So many reminders of those around the nation remembering us, sending their love, and blessing us with their thoughts and prayers. I love them mom & dad.

2013-02-21_033 (1280x852)

Thank you also (should the sender be a blog reader) to whoever sent the lilies and roses this afternoon but chose not to sign the enclosure card. They are beautiful and make the room smell wonderful! Lolly, Clare LOVES the bird balloon and it makes the space by the window (and outside construction) so happy.

2013-02-21_036 (1280x886)

Momma, everyone loves the blanket. The night nurse (these last two nights) has been happy to take Clare to the nursery as she can brag just a little about “her” baby’s sweetness. I guess the night nurses are a little competitive. She wins in the blanket department and of course the chocolate we use to bribe them.

2013-02-21_059 (1280x954)

This is what it’s really like when Clare comes to visit….loud, obnoxious, full of life, and demanding in the way this 19-month-old does best.

2013-02-21_057 (1280x851)

Until she witnesses her brother snuggle the baby’s head and marches herself over to do the same. I love it that those two are buddies. I love it even more when they calm each other…it’s rare but fantastic when it happens. Look at that sweet face!!

2013-02-21_090 (851x1280)

This is life now. My arms are full. There’s a zillion things going on in the mix – missing shoes and hair bows out of place, wet hair, a crying newborn, and a boy that just looks like he’s ready to erupt in a display of energy. Yep. That’s life. It’s new. It’s normal. It’s bound to have its moment of meltdown and it’s moments of glory. One thing is for sure…I’m lucky to be there for all of it. This is life.

2013-02-21_095 (1280x851)

And for those family members that wanted to see her piggies, here they are.

2013-02-21_103 (1280x851)

I love reasons to use the camera. I love it even more when the lighting just happens to be right and it makes the shot just a little bit easier. For the record, her pinky toe folds under like mine (and several on the Clair side), but her finger toes and the space just perfect for flip flop wearing is not from me. Yes, she is indeed wearing an ankle bracelet that will set off alarms if she gets close to the window or an elevator. It makes wearing socks quite difficult, but I’m delighted they take infant security seriously at this hospital. You are hard pressed not to be reminded of their policies with each person that walks into the room and flashes their purple badge (safe to handle baby), the signs that remind you to “Think Infant Safety”, and of course the number of times they check our ID numbers against that of the baby’s.

On that note…I’m going to get ready for bed. Elizabeth is snuggled in next to her daddy content to be wrapped up and sucking her pacifier (I’m so excited she just might be a pacifier baby.) I think I’ll take a similar cue and crawl into bed for a little nap before they bring in meds and take our vitals. Night all!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 23, 2013 6:41 am

    All these photos are gorgeous! Congratulations on the birth of your precious little girl. You have a lovely family. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

