Skip to content

Happy Mardi Gras

February 12, 2013

So…the kids (and I) love King Cake. Normally, we simply purchase one. However, I was lucky enough to have found this box mix at World Cost Market. I was not certain it was going to taste any good, but I was certain the kids were going to love making their own this year. However, admittedly come this afternoon (even after my nap), there was a part of me that was really wishing I had simply snuck over to the local donut shop (before 4:00 p.m.) and picked up one of their mini King Cakes. But no…alas, I had to pull myself from my nap to help the kids make this bread that did indeed have to rise two times, bake, and cool before we could eat it.

In the end, I’m so thankful we made this one. I sincerely hope we can find this mix next year.

(However, should we not…I think I’ll give a college friend’s recipe a try. Check it out at SometimesMarthAlwaysMary.)

We all LOVED eating it just a little warm in the center and oh so gooey and creamy. Gotta love that brown sugar praline filling. Oh my!

Happy mardi gras all!!

2013-02-12_026 (851x1280)

2013-02-12_029 (1280x851)

2013-02-12_030 (1280x851)

2013-02-12_032 (851x1280)

Tomorrow is Ash Wednesday. The kids and I are adding a decade of the rosary to our morning routine and giving up either chocolate or soda. Katie has decided to alternate with something different each week. Michael has decided that since he doesn’t really like chocolate anyway (news to me) that he’s going to give up chocolate for the next 40 days. As for myself, I’m shooting for both!

On another note…still no baby. Appointment tomorrow afternoon. I think I’ll tease him for thinking that I was never going to make it through the weekend. Still here. Still growing this little girl and still wondering when she’ll make her appearance. God willing all will be well when she does. Keep praying for us please! God bless your Lent!

One Comment leave one →
  1. mom permalink
    February 14, 2013 12:48 am

    My favorite part of the whole king cake saga is the part where everyone forgot to put the baby inside…lol…sounds just like something I would do! Love you and prayers always!!!!

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

