Skip to content

She’s getting so very big!

January 29, 2013

As I just downloaded the pictures from my camera, I realized that over 90% of them were of our Katie Girl. I think I’ll take the time to brag on her a little as she is definitely in a new phase of life…pre-teen for sure! I’m definitely not ready!

2013-01-21_001 (1280x851)

She lost this tooth while watching a neighbor friend play hockey. In fact, she bit into a soft concession stand pretzel and it fell out. She tells me she didn’t even realize it was loose. Obviously, the adult tooth was already making its descent. I’m so thankful this girl can handle her teeth on her own. It creeps me out.

2013-01-17_161742 (1280x960)

She is still loving her science class. This 6-week term, it’s on architecture. As part of their Lego visiting exhibit, someone had created a replica of the Gwinnett Environmental & Heritage Center. They had toured the exhibit during class, and her teacher made a point to tell me to go back and look at it. Katie actually had hoped I’d take a picture for her. So…what photography loving momma wouldn’t oblige, right?! I was only sad that I only had my camera phone with me and she had to go to the car to get that even.

2013-01-25_006 (1280x851)

She has managed to teach herself how to knit. Gramma Lissa gave her a beginning knitting kit and despite both her dad and I’s attempt at figuring it out, she kept working for hours until she got it….even without the YouTube videos we were attempting. As an aside, this is her new favorite outfit. She was on her way to a “cool girl” birthday party. I hear the other girls did indeed approve.

2013-01-29_022 (851x1280)

She is a baker. She’s always been a baker. (Thanks Aunt Sherry for the Christmas present and inspiration for this aspiring baker.)

2013-01-29_029 (1280x851)

She’s now officially no longer my shadow in the kitchen, and has indeed surpassed my own baking expertise.

2013-01-29_023 (1280x851)

Today, while I took my nap, she put together her pies. I must admit that I was delighted to be able to hand her a bag of frozen pie filling from our fall apple-picking adventures, print for her an online recipe for pie crust, and explain how to set up the food processor and leave her to own creation. Thanks Aunt Gerisey. She was careful to make all of the top crusts different. She was most proud of her one that she wove…just like Aunt Gerise. What a baker!!

2013-01-29_026 (1280x851)

These were truly amazing pies. Uncle Andy has begged her to come to Colorado and make him 40 of them regularly. These were seriously fantastic pies! She made 8 of them (4 of them at a time) spending 3 hours on her feet…or so she tells us. Not only did I wake from my nap smelling them baking, but by the time I got downstairs, they were out of the oven and she was almost finished cleaning up the kitchen. Impressive just isn’t a strong enough word. This girl rocked everything today!!! (She even had her schoolwork & chores completely finished by noon so that she was free to bake all afternoon.)

Katie Girl I’m so very proud of you! You should be proud of yourself. Job well done today sweet girl!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. mom permalink
    January 30, 2013 7:53 am

    Papa would second that order Uncle Andy placed! 🙂 They turned out beautiful and I can smell them all the way to WYOMING!!!! SO PROUD OF YOU!!!!! God blessed us so much with the gift of YOU!!!!! XOXOXO

  2. January 30, 2013 8:13 am

    A nap, a beautiful growing daughter, and apple pies — it’s just too much!! Glad you were blessed today, my friend, as you should be!!

  3. Auntie Sherry permalink
    January 31, 2013 6:06 am

    I’m so very proud of you Katie Ruth, those look AWESOME & I know you were very excited for me to see them as you said on the phone last night. I would LOVE to get there this summer for us to “create” some new pies together 🙂 You have such amazing talents, so smart, so creative, so beautiful..Love you to the moon & back! Glad you liked your lil gift!

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

