Skip to content

Our Ice Rink Rockstar Kids

January 19, 2013

Friday was the perfect day to take a school break and meet up with Michael’s teacher and fellow GCA students at the Ice Rink. The kids have never been ice skating, and although they were excited, there was a certain level of nervousness.

Of course, they started out holding on to the side.

2013-01-18_002 (1280x851)

Then, it was time to practice with just one hand on the wall.

2013-01-18_006 (1280x851)

Wait a minute. Maybe I can do it without any hands on the wall.

2013-01-18_008 (1280x852)

And sometimes I am brave enough to pass my sister who is holding on to the wall and it turns out a little like this.

2013-01-18_014 (1280x1195)

Finally, it’s time mom pushes us from the nest and we have to make or break it in the middle of the rink.

michael skating (1280x498)

One girl told me to my face that I was mean for making my kids leave the wall. (I won’t mention what I really thought of her throughout that morning skate.) But they both did it! They were in the middle of the rink, on their feet, and with a new set of friends who were not wall huggers. Even Katie made it to the middle, although, more uncertain on her blades, she did it!

katie skating (1280x498)

It was so unbelievably FREEZING inside the rink. Sweet little Clare wouldn’t leave her gloves on and her hands were truly like icicles. It was refreshing to get outside after naptime and enjoy some warmer weather and the effects of the day’s sunshine.

2013-01-18_033 (1280x851)

It’s been a very long week of lots and lots of rain and then there was the threat of a snow storm. Much to the kids’ dismay, the storm passed by us, but it did leave some warmer temperatures in its wake.

2013-01-18_029 (1280x851)

Here’s to the promise of a great weekend. We have so many projects around the house to get ready for the baby’s arrival; 5 more weeks (or less)!!! There’s the cradle to repair, a leaky toilet terribly inconvenient for this very pregnant momma, Christmas boxes stil in the garage, an infant car seat that needs to be washed up (at the very least), and the infant “stuff” brought down from the attic and sorted. After 3 babies, I wonder if there’s still things I can choose to remove from the house as they just aren’t that necessary. Isn’t it true that there’s numerous necessary items that become less necessary with subsequent babies? Today, I hope to sort through the baby clothes. Get them washed and put into Elizabeth’s drawers. Bittersweet I think. It’s exciting to know that a baby is coming home in a short time, but I must admit, it reminds me of how quickly Clare has grown. This is the first time in Boster history that our kids have truly shared clothes. I have a few things that we saved from Katie, but after 8 years, we had moved those boxes from the attic and into the hands of other people. A dear friend pointed out how shocked I’d be to change their diapers side-by-side and to see the size of their bums relative to each other. She claims that will instantly make me realize just how very big and independent Clare has gotten. Our little girl is soon to be truly a big girl! Admittedly, I’m having a hard time not thinking of her as anything but another baby…two babies in our house. We’ve never done it that way. Katie was 3 when Michael arrived and Michael was 5 when Clare was born. What an adventure 2013 holds for us.

2013-01-18_035 (1280x827)

Now I’m off to mobilize the troops for some productivity and play later! There’s the promise of a picnic at the park after naptime! I must fulfill that promise in good conscience. Wish us luck! Happy weekend to you. What are you planning?

Oh yes, a very special shout-out to my sister on their birthday today!! See you tomorrow sis for some celebrating!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. mom permalink
    January 20, 2013 12:06 am

    Busy busy busy…KT is getting so tall!!!

    • January 20, 2013 1:41 am

      Welcome to our chaos! We’ve done this ‘2 babies’ thing more than once. Let us know if you need any tips!

  2. January 26, 2013 12:03 pm

    Taking things for granted is something we as humans tend to do. We never think that something that has always been there for us, or something that we can always count on, will ever be gone from our lives. We glance by it without giving it a second thought. If it’s there today, it’ll be there tomorrow, right? If only we could realize before it’s too late that it’s the things in life that we take for granted that are the most precious things we could ever have. Once we lose these things, we begin to miss them, and regret ever having taken them for granted in the first place. We regret the smallest things, knowing that they weren’t that small. Things like telling our loved ones that we actually do love them, things that we never think about until it’s too late. Not a day goes by when I don’t regret not telling my mother more often that I loved her, or that she was my role model. There is not a day that goes by that I don’t regret taking her for granted.

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

