Skip to content

Date Night and some Christmas Cheer

December 20, 2012

This week seems to have been so very busy. I think we are making up for all the sick days over the last few weeks.

Nate and I even got away for a dinner at Longhorn. I seem to always crave red meat in the last months of my pregnancy. Given we had a gift card and Longhorn has the best steaks, my dinner request was an easy decision. Following dinner, we headed down to the Atlanta Botanical Gardens for their holiday light display.

2012-12-18_162 (1280x851)

How very incredibly beautiful. We were thankful to have enjoyed our evening so much as actually getting into the gardens was quite the ordeal. We waited over an hour just to file into the parking garage only to find out that they had oversold the night and even those with tickets in hand, were waiting in a mob of people to be let into the park as parties left. Ridiculous!! It was sort of sad to think that this wasn’t their first year and there were still so many glitches in the experience. Thankfully, they did not turn off the lights at 10:00 p.m. like posted.

2012-12-18_175 (1280x851)

The Orchestral Orbs were definitely our favorite!

2012-12-18_185 (1280x851)

The light orbs were scattered along the perimeter of the Great Lawn and were synchronized to music. It was such a spectacular light display and musical effect…so peaceful and mesmerizing. We went back twice in fact.

2012-12-18_165 (1280x851)

2012-12-18_219 (1280x851)

2012-12-18_222 (1280x851)

The Children’s Garden was filled with bugs!

2012-12-18_198 (1280x851)

Although, Nate is rarely the one taking pictures, he is the best in manual mode on our digital SLR camera. I am always so impressed with his “mathematical” understanding of shutter speeds, light, etc. Some day I’ll be able to concentrate and focus enough to learn all of this, but for now, I’m happy to quickly capture our life in auto mode and live vicariously through my husband. Don’t you love the colors and focus in this picture?

2012-12-18_200 (851x1280)

We also managed to make it down to Nate’s office on Wednesday for a pizza lunch and to deliver treats to those in his department.

2012-12-19_233 (1280x851)

I love how the kids’ cones turned out thanks to Kate Hadfield Designs.

2012-12-19_237 (1280x852)

Monday night the kids had their last Church Class for the 2012 year. Michael made this great ornament thanks to the religious education office. I can’t believe half the year is already over! My 2nd grade class will be making their first reconciliation in January/February! Unbelievable!

2012-12-18_147 (1135x1280)

I’ve really taken advantage of some great time outside the house after finally being well enough to get out again. I had the chance to attend a Christmas Party at a local painting place. How fun!! It was nice to paint and chat and eat with a bunch of women…all Heritage Makers friends.

20121216_193831

Last night I am happy to say that I had such a great time with old friends (from my first years in Atlanta) that I got home just before midnight. Holy cow!!! I haven’t been up that late this entire pregnancy. What a treat to enjoy these four women so much that we all broke our own self-mandated curfews. Merry Christmas!

Clare has been my companion as I’ve snuck away for a bit of shopping here and there. I’ve recently started to let her move a bit in the cart. The rule…she has to “sit”. The little turkey looks at me with each movement to see if she’s going to get away with this definition of “sitting”. It drives her daddy mad, but I’ve learned over the years, kids need to move…especially our kids! It makes everything better. I looked down to find her in this position. The first to have found this her preferred means of shopping. Silly girl!

20121214_104556

She is having so much fun with the hats, jingle bells, and reindeer antlers. Such a ham for sure when she puts them on! It’s a darn good thing this girl is so stinkin cute as she has quite the demanding disposition!

20121212_085256(1)

Merry Christmas all. There’s still some preparations to do from our house, but starting this weekend, things are going to be more focused on the spirit of the season!! Hope you can find some time for the same.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

