Skip to content

Happy Thanksgiving! We are thankful for so much!

November 22, 2012

What a great day!

lego katie (1280x498)
(Photo from earlier in the month, but it never made it onto the blog. She was practicing smiling with her eyes open. Sweet, right?)

Breakfast included something new…our favorites cooked quickly. Sweet. Cinnamon rolls and crispy hashbrowns without all the oil. Thanks to Pinterest for the idea.

breakfast (1280x498)

We watched the parade and did some food preparations and baking with neighbors next door. This is the one recipe that Anna will make without any help from me. These homemade Oatmeal Knots are so fantastically delicious. (We opt not to add the toppings. They aren’t necessary!) Okay, so maybe a guadruple batch might have been too much for the eight of us feasting later at dinnertime, but boy were they yummy. I made some “homemade” butter in fall candy molds to go with the deliciousness that is wheat bread. If you are interested, click the links for the recipe.

thanksgiving morning (1280x498)

dinner rolls (1280x498)

In keeping with tradition, a Thanksgiving afternoon nap was in order. (This time, it simply came before the feast. My third trimester pregnant body is not picky.)

Then, it was time for PJ Thanksgiving!! Yep. We really did arrive in our PJs for a very relaxing dinner and social time. It was glorious!

thanksgiving in PJs (1280x498)

The feast was so delicious! I love that holiday meals with friends include some of their traditions and ours too. Food has so many connections to our childhood memories and people we love too. It’s fun to see the mix of families in this feast.

feast (1280x498)

Our beloved hosts….

nick lolly (1280x498)

The kids table…

kids table (1280x498)

I love you Nate and consider myself so thankful for you, our marriage, our children, our life in Atlanta. Thank you dear. I love you!

nate sara (1280x498)

I love that when the rest of us were finished feasting, Nick & Jess were pacing themselves and ready for round 2. Heck yeah, we’ll sit around the table a bit longer.

Okay, so round 2 for me meant some dessert. Gianna made the cute little turkey cupcakes and Jessica the pumpkin cake. Nate’s request was his childhood favorite, PB Wheaties cookies. There were also some Oreo truffles and pumpkin pie and pecan pie too. Gotta love the chance to simply graze for several hours with a sugar laden feast.

dessert (1280x498)

Clare partook of her own feast. Sitting on Uncle Nick’s lap, she thought she wanted some of his childhood clam pie. However, I don’t know that he’ll get her to try it again anytime soon. Aunt Lolly got the better deal with a little bit of vanilla ice cream in a yummy cone.

Godparents (1280x498)

Playing all day at friends’ house also included some surprises…a paint set for Katie & super hero Lego set for Michael. How fun and incredibly generous also.

activities (1280x498)

Michael was so delighted to get a chance to PLAY with Jessica. They were able to open his present and concoct some snow on our 70F thanksgiving day.

2007-11-22_059

Gianna & Katie played most of the night and Gianna was so incredibly sweet to occupy Clare’s day too. This meant that she wasn’t constantly underfoot, but it also meant that I wasn’t within proximity to take pictures of them. Sorry G!! We love you and I’m so thankful for the minutes that you loved on Clare!

I love how Michael “set up” this picture. It’s the perfect balance of his activity and those planned for the girls – a manicure party.

girls and boys games (1280x498)

The day was so incredibly blessed…relaxing and wonderful! I’m even thankful for the crazy leg cramp I got at the most inopportune time. Everyone was sitting around the table watching and all I wanted to do was cuss and cry. Okay, so moving outside was a great idea as then the kids couldn’t see (or hear) me at least. Thank you honey and Dolores & Nick for being there to create solutions while I waited for this dang cramp (or 12) to run its course. What an unbelievably painful few moments. So…I’m thankful to be pregnant, to have loving friends around me, and to be so comfortable that it didn’t matter it happened outside the privacy of our own home. Sorry for shocking everyone and making you think I was in pre-term labor. Gosh!!

Lastly, I’m thankful that Aunt Lolly didn’t take the kids’ recipe for cooking a turkey into consideration for this year’s feast.

2012-11-22 Katie_134 (998x1280)

2012-11-22 Michael_135 (999x1280)

Thank you God for life, faith, family & friends!

One Comment leave one →
  1. mom permalink
    November 23, 2012 11:49 pm

    Looks like a great feast…nice!!!

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

