Skip to content

Birthday Celebrations are the best….

November 21, 2012

Michael had a great day. When I asked him what he’d like me to say on the blog update, he replied, “I don’t know mom. The whole day was great.” There you have it. Here are a few pictures of our great day.

Being 6 is so special.

After ice cream for breakfast…

20121126 (1261x1280)

…Michael got to see the additions to his big-kid room…his new Lego set up (almost finished) and a few presents awaiting him also. I think he likes it. (Lego murals compliments of Nate & I.)

2007-11-21_20121133 (1280x851)

2007-11-21_20121148 (1280x851)

Chuck E Cheese was this year’s destination. He had so much in KS on his 5-year birthday, why not go back. Nate and I were thrilled that the crowds were virtually nonexistent which made for a very happy (and quieter) playtime.

michael tickets (1280x498)

chuck e cheese (1280x498)

Not many pictures from our playtime here as I (the family photographers) was hanging with Clare most of the time. The big kids didn’t mind not having to entertain her.

clare car (1280x498)

After play and lunch, Anna graciously picked up Clare and the rest of us went to see Rise of the Guardians. Oh my goodness…I LOVED it…we all loved it! I could write a great big long review that the secular world would probably disagree with, but I loved it. I loved that it was funny and yet had a deeper philosophical layer that Nate and I could appreciate. I loved that they didn’t “mess” too much with the legendary story of these childhood characters…the Tooth Fairy, Sandman, Boogeyman, Easter Bunny, Santa Claus, and Jack Frost.

2012-11-21_rise of the guardians
BTW…there is a great little animated story guide for each of these characters on their movie website.

I loved that there wasn’t an ounce of anything that was offensive. I loved that the “scary” guys were not that scary. You knew they were bad without being so in-your-face-scary-wicked. I loved that we were there as a family (without a restless 17 month old in tow).

I think I’m going to try to locate the books that were used as the foundation for this movie. It might make for some fun and “new” Christmas reading. The Guardians of Childhood by William Joyce. Afterall, I now have two voracious (child) readers in the house now.

Dinner was a struggle this year. Michael is not our “eater” in the house. He eats because basically we tell him he has to eat. He couldn’t name anything that was his “favorite” food and thereby wanted me to make for dinner. We settled on plain butter noodles, garlic bread and corn….a very visually muted dinner. Oh well. He ate!

After dinner included cake & ice cream with friends. We love you guys!

birthday cake (1280x498)

michael joey (1280x498)

michael satrianos (1280x498)

His most favorite thing in the world right now are definitely Legos. He is even happy now to play in his room (by himself) if it means he gets some time with his Lego bricks. I hope he loves them for many years to come! I love the creativity it brings out in him and spatial awareness too if you want to pull the academic card. HA!

Happy birthday BIG boy! We love you! Here’s to a great year!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

