Skip to content

This has been a great day.

October 16, 2012

The kids, each on their own and at different times, declared today to be a great day. I love those days and I love that our kids express their delight each in their own way and in their own time.

2012-10-16_005 (1280x901)

We started our day trick-or-treating at the Sunrise Assisted Living center. We joined the St. Brigid (our church) Mom’s group for a little candy fun. We were able to “hold court” for 45 minutes with a group of beautiful women. Michael was surprised that they asked no less than a dozen times how old is Clare. Michael was delighted that this one woman kept calling him brilliant. He grinned all morning! Katie was so proud to play her piano for a few minutes and made me promise to help her remember to bring her piano book back next time.

We came home for a little lunch and school. Michael was so delighted to have yet another reason to use the ipad for his research. He was looking up the various rain forest animals so he could color them authentically. It might have taken him all afternoon, but I was delighted he stuck with it and enjoyed it also.

2012-10-16_013 (1280x852)

The cat even appreciated the quiet today…a far cry from yesterday’s miserable one-year-old antics.

2012-10-16_007 (1280x787)

I got a little time in the kitchen to try my hand at cinnamon rolls. I’m such a baby when it comes to making anything with yeast. I have this engrained fear that after all the work and kneading, that the bread isn’t going to rise correctly or I’m not going to like it once it does. Today, we declared these confectionary goodies to be the best yet from our kitchen. Hopefully, Nate’s co-workers agree. (No pictures of them though.)

Just to continue the streak of a great day, I promised a quick dinner at McD’s and then some time a new park. Our county opened a handful of new parks this summer, none of which we have experienced. First up was a park just a mile or so from the golden arches. I must admit I don’t really love playing inside the forrest, but the kids were delighted. I think we’ll be back, but maybe more in the daytime instead of at dusk. I found it be a bit creepy. Silly, right?! Remember, I grew up in the city and was certainly not allowed to ever venture too far outside of our fenced in backyard. I’m branching out.

2012-10-16_020 (1280x871)

2012-10-16_032 (1280x881)

2012-10-16_045 (1280x878)

2012-10-16_049 (1280x852)

plank (1280x498)

2012-10-16_054 (1280x851)

2012-10-16_069 (1280x852)

2012-10-16_095 (1280x851)

michael (1280x853)

I don’t know tonight which one of our kids really enjoyed climbing more. They ALL conquered this multi-pod playground in their own fashion. None of them were complaining until it was time to leave.

I think we may just have to bring some friends back here for a Friday afternoon playdate and picnic dinner.

bear riders (1280x498)

Tonight’s prayers included a little thank you (from everyone) for the great day today and prayers for similar sentiments tomorrow.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

