Skip to content

Ahhh the fair…an annual tradition

October 11, 2012

2012-10-10_112 (1280x851)

It has become tradition since these girls were quite small…

2012-10-10_052 (1280x851)

…that our families would try to attend the fair together. The girls thankfully love the same rides, and luckily the boys are mutually not-so-much in love with the amusement ride thrills. They are a match made in heaven…both of them.

2012-10-10_057 (1280x851)

The girls declared again this year that their favorite ride is indeed the Pirate ship. Oh how they love it. Katie was able to ride it twice even!

2012-10-10_050 (851x1280)

katie pirate ship (1280x498)

Since the kids aren’t inclined to ride the same type of rides, it makes waiting in line difficult for Stacey and I. This year, unfortunately, we found ourselves with not much time for personal conversation….a significant bummer. We are going to have to bring the husbands next year! However, the carpet slide is one that everyone likes. However, I think it might be one of Michael’s favorites!

slide (1280x498)

We did convince the boys to ride the ferris wheel. Thank you Ms. Stacey for taking them! Luckily, Michael didn’t regret his ride!

boys ferris wheel (1280x498)

The girls just appreciated the opportunity to gap some more. Katie did mention it was “creepy” to be stuck at the top as they unloaded people on and off the ride below.

girls ferris wheel (1280x498)

And…yes it was a good thing Michael decided to back out of the X-Factory line. He would have hated this ride for sure! Katie loved it of course!

katie x factory (1280x498)

She was bummed, however, that the swings were boring compared to the ones at Six Flags. Ahhh…the knowledge this girl has of amusement parks. HA!

katie swings (1280x498)

The Tabak’s were able to get the kids T-shirts which allowed them to walk in the parade. The night was hosted by Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta and where Mrs. Tabak works.

2012-10-10_081 (1280x851)

2012-10-10_074 (1280x851)

We are so thankful to have such a great network of children’s medical facilities in the area. Although, our kids have never been admitted to the Children’s Hospital, we have taken advantage of their ER and their walk-in clinics on occasion.

michael (1280x853)

Unfortunately, as rosey as the above words and pictures appear, the night really wasn’t anything like we had hoped nor compared to year’s past. Little things that in and of themselves aren’t worth mentioning, but you add the final element and it’s a night that I think will remain as one of those “life changing events” for me.

It was 8:00 and dark and the rides were incredibly long. To pass the time, I handed out glow necklaces and we discussed what remaining rides were of greatest importance, created great things with the necklaces and connectors, and of course plotted the perfect time to make our funnel cake purchase. Realizing that we were likely in this line for 45 minutes to an hour, Katie declares it really isn’t among her very favorites and we can walk elsewhere. So off we go…all four of us. At some point in the following 20 seconds, Michael gets separated from us. Although, the distance was the equivalent of walking across a road, the things that stood between us and the number of people crowded around seemed to make the distance feel like it was miles upon miles. Immediately, Katie & I start yelling for him and pacing back and forth through our initial path. Looking low between and around people. The seconds and minutes are ticking and yet time seems to stand still. It was mere seconds, how could a soon-to-be six year old, not normally inclined to wander, disappear?

People began to inquire if I was missing a child. “YES! A boy. 6. Wearing a shirt like his sisters. Glow necklaces around his neck. Light brown hair. His name is Michael!” To say I was panicking, is an understatement. Looking back it is interesting to me the number of men (and teenage girls) that actively offered to help. Everyone kept telling me to stand still so they could find me with him in hand and the police could find me once they were alerted by any number of the people offering to find someone. However, how do you stand still when your child should be so close to where you are standing.

How could it be that my child was missing? My children don’t go missing? I don’t lose our children!

Katie is such a Godsend, in so many ways, but in these moments she showed her true virtue in a real way. She grabbed my camera, found a picture of Michael and began showing it to people. Gripping my hand as tight as she could, she kept reassuring me “Mom. We are going to find him. He’s ok.” I could hear her praying her Guardian Angel prayer under her breath as I cried and yelled for him scanning everywhere, everything, everyone for Michael. I consider myself pretty level-headed and logical, but I have to admit that I quickly lost all ability to reason an appropriate plan of action.

Ever seen three police officers rushing toward you. “What’s his name ma’am? What’s he look like? When is his birthday? How old is he? Where did you see him last? What’s he wearing?” Oh my. So scary. Was I really the mother that now had three police officers (and a dozen or more bystanders) looking for her child?

Thankfully, a call came in while I was relaying Michael’s description that a boy was looking for his mother. His name was Michael Boster. I remember breaking down sobbing and simply shouting, “Take me to him. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. I want to see him!”

I’ll reserve the other whiney details of actually getting to him as they are largely just whiney in the grand scheme of the night’s events. Michael was fine. He didn’t seem the least bit upset and he had done what I hoped he would do…find a nice, well-dressed, suburban family that he could appear to be with and not seem like a lost child. They were very good to him, very smart in their approach to find me…putting Michael on the dad’s shoulder so he could look for me and keep him there so that I could potentially see him above the crowd, and the mother went to the police station in case I was still in Michael’s area looking for him. Smart!! We will teach our children about “stranger danger in the 21st century” not the way we were taught! There is a smart way to be lost and we will equip them with the facts. God is good!!

And in Katie’s words (45 minutes later), “Mom you can stop crying. You are coming home with all three of us!”

kids (1280x498)

You are right sweet girl, I AM indeed coming home with all three of you! God is good and has a great deal of mercy on me. God bless the family and the grandparents who watched over you, Mr. Mike. I am forever grateful to them, and I didn’t even think to get their names, but they all said a personal good-bye to you and congratulated you on being so brave and keeping them company until I came! Thank you God!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. mom permalink
    October 12, 2012 12:21 am

    Okay this in light of the fact I have been stressing over KT since a 11 year old girl went missing on her way to school in Andy’s area…Westminster, CO. Sadly she was not so lucky to come home but I too must learn to trust more in the mercy of God…this as tears run down my face thinking of sweet Mikey and how prescious he is…! Don’t call me to talk about this either! My worst mightmares!!!

    • mom permalink
      October 12, 2012 3:05 am

      Ok so maybe I over reacted…just a little…lol! All is good and I seem to remember one or two of you missing for a time too…still…scary! God is good and I need to remember that and trust in HIM!!!! Thanks for sharing!! Sorry you had to go through this especially with all those extra hormones!!!!! 😉
      Love you all!!!!!

  2. Aunt Linny permalink
    October 12, 2012 5:33 pm

    Wow…this was hard to read. I was doing pretty well reading it until you began sharing what you were going through. I am so sorry! Yes, tears for what you had to go through… I got lost at the KS State Fair when I was with mom and I think Lis and Bill. Don’t remember anyone else. But..it was really scary. Dad and Mom had always told us if we got lost to just stay right where you were. Do not move. That is hard to do when you are panicking! But..I was found and mom just hugged me and laughed as I was crying as I was so releived I found mom. Glad Mikey was not scared and had good people watching over him…along with (as you said) all our loved ones in Heaven. xoxoxoxox

Trackbacks

  1. Six Flags Fright Fest…a new experience « Today's Tomfoolery

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

