Skip to content

Hanging Bats Tutorial

October 2, 2012

So I’ve never bothered to do a “tutorial” for any project as I mostly think they are intuitive or I lack the forethought to actually photograph each step. Tonight, I was lucky to have possessed both things.

Anna really wanted to hang bats outside and after describing to me what she had in mind, this is what we concocted.

bats hanging (1280x640)

Cute, right? I appreciated that we were done with them in less an hour — cheap (JoAnn’s had the felt for $1.99/yd.), simple and quick.

First, you have to determine the size of your bats. I simply took the fabric that I purchased, folded it into fourths and then divided that into fourths to get an acceptable dimension for our bat. Using newspaper, I could draw the entire bat full-size and since I was using black felt, I didn’t have to worry about newsprint leaving an unsightly, gray, smudgy mess. Here’s the general shape, much easier when you just concentrate on getting half of it drawn (with a crayon onto newsprint).

2012-10-02_033 (1280x689)

Next unwrap the felt so you only have two layers. You could pin your pattern to the felt, but I found it was just as easy to hold it into place with my hand and simply cut a rough shape around the template. I did not make an effort to “stay on the lines” while I was cutting. Who is going to know, really?!

2012-10-02_026 (1280x852)

Make sure your scissors are sharp. The two layers of felt make for a thicker cut and would be near impossible with dull scissors.

2012-10-02_029 (1280x701)

Next I folded the top bat down and taped two pipecleaners we had twisted together onto the bottom, inside piece of felt.

2012-10-02_030 (1280x756)

It was attached to the bottom piece of fabric, and with some hot glue, was now attached to the top piece of fabric. This pipe cleaner simply keeps the large wings from folding in on themselves once hung. It’s a step that I wouldn’t skip!

2012-10-02_031 (1280x851)

I used that same hot glue gun to glue the edges of the bats together. Given the weight and dark color of the felt, the hot glue wasn’t noticeable. I’m particular about hot glue showing through or creating a ridge on my projects. I didn’t find that the case with this one. Be sure to work in small sections and to press down on the pieces of fabric to ensure they are adequately sealed. String a piece of fishing line through the head and hang. They have survived already a torrential 24-hour downpour. I couldn’t be happier and in this case, neither could my sister.

2012-10-02_034 (1280x851)

Happy Halloween.

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

