Skip to content

Happy Mother’s Day

May 11, 2012

Our 2nd annual pre-Mother’s Day trip to Callaway Gardens was wonderful as ever. The weather was gorgeous. We had a yummy picnic lunch, saw the butterflies and bird show, fed the turtles and fish, walked the grounds and took lots of pictures. We feel as though we’ve been there so many times now, that our time there is no longer “we have to see this”, but rather, “let’s just walk around”. I love it! Thank God for my husband who doesn’t mind driving…I get to sleep in the car.

2012-05-11_2015 (1280x851)

The butterflies are Katie’s favorite. She is always hunting those big blue ones who are a bit sluggish and don’t mind sitting on your finger.

2012-05-11_2055 (1280x851)

This visit we also let them play on the beach and I rocked the baby for a short nap…one for me too.

2012-05-11_2073 (1280x851)

Daddy’s favorite is definitely the birds of prey show! It’s one of the rare times that he really gets excited about having the camera. He takes this serious!

2012-05-11_2162 (1280x851)

2012-05-11_2177 (1280x851)

A sleepy baby meant Michael and I missed the Birds of Prey but scored a very sweet perch in the midst of bird feeders and quite the colorful visitors. It also meant Clare got to nurse and Michael got to play in the trees and among the pine cones. I seriously cherished these moments!

2012-05-11_2225 (1280x887)

It was also next to the little stream which housed this snake. Awesome to see it on this trip…we’ve never seen it in previous visits. Consider us in the right place at the right time.

2012-05-11_2236 (1280x851)

2012-05-11_2274 (1280x851)

I already look forward to our next visit to Callaway and thanks to friends in Columbus (only a 45 minute drive from the park) AND an annual pass that has reciprocal membership, I hope to make it back every few months or so. We still haven’t taken the bikes through the park or hiked the trails.

We were tired and hadn’t eaten and it was 7 p.m. when we finally stopped. Thankfully, the kids were happy to be sitting and eating that it was an enjoyable dinner. What I didn’t know was how critical this lingering dinner really was in the grand scheme of the night unfolding.

I took Clare to the bathroom to bathe her (yep we are one of those families). The baby has ketchup in her hair and there’s a sink availabe, this momma is going to give you a “bath”. After dunking her head under the water, I moved to the handicap stall to change her diaper and put on her PJs for the ride home and straight to bed. Katie knocks and I let her in and thanks to peripheral vision, I realize that she hasn’t locked the door to the stall and someone is walking in. What I can’t comprehend fully is that I’m staring at my mom (here from Wyoming no less). Yep. They did it. Not only did they come to Atlanta, but they managed to surprise us none-the-less. Unbelievable!!! I think this is going to be a great week!!!

I love you mom and dad!

2012-05-19_066 (1280x1029)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

