Skip to content

Happy Birthday to me

April 27, 2012

What a day! My mom and sister Jenny have a tradition of starting the birthday greetings a day in advance. The “It’s almost your birthday, n-nah, n-nah, n-nah” are texted and phoned repeatedly before midnight! Love you guys!

After getting up with Clare early and putting her back in bed, I got to sleep in until just before 8 a.m. when the kids woke me to say they’d helped Dad prepare breakfast. I’d requested a Strawberry Nutella pannini, sausage and frozen yogurt with a fruit bar. Yummy!

2012-04-27_033 (1280x851)

My poor husband after working into the early morning hours, got up at 6 a.m. to put the yogurt (I’d premixed and set into the fridge) into the freezer per the note I’d left. Unfortunately, he didn’t realize that meant the ice cream freezer and I didn’t realize the ice cream freezer base hadn’t been pre-frozen. Therefore, I was served my frozen yogurt a bit unlike the frozen yogurt I was expecting. Never mind. Serve the frozen ice cream instead. It’s tradition afterall…ice cream for breakfast.

The kids were dying to give me their presents.

2012-04-27_040 (1280x851)

Katie chose a craft project from the closet that hadn’t been completed and diligently worked on it all week.

2012-04-27_043 (1280x851)

Mikey, not to be outdone in generosity, ran upstairs to get a “gift” from his room. Clare AND I now get to share the pig pillow. Sweet. It’s a good thing regifting isn’t frowned upon in this house.

2012-04-27_036 (1280x878)

Anna has been itching to present me with my weather barometer after snagging it a few weeks back while at a glass blower’s shop in Dahlonega, GA. She was telling me the owner’s family have been glass blowers for the last 100 years. They own the patent on this particular shape. Cool! Oh yes. She also wrote “Happy Birthday sis” and drew a super large heart on my bathroom mirror. It’s the privilege of living with us AND having access to window markers. (The kids and I leave bathroom messages for daddy all the time.) Thanks Anna. I love it. We’ll share your love of storms a few hours ahead of our next storm.

The Atlanta Botanical Gardens was our mid-afternoon destination. Our neighbor, Sara, spent the afternoon with us also. Golly, we “ran” through the gardens though as we were pressed for time. Crazy! Thank God for reciprocal memberships. We’ll be back soon! Look at all the reciprocal places we can visit.

2012-04-27_049 (1280x851)

2012-04-27_068 (1280x851)

2012-04-27_065 (1280x851)

The rose garden smelled so fantastic!!!

2012-04-27_072 (1280x851)

2012-04-27_111 (1280x851)

We brought Sara back home (barely on time) and arrived to a little outdoor decoration compliments of her mom! Thanks Rebecca for adding to the specialness of this day. You made me smile! We love you too!

2012-04-27_135 (1280x851)

A surprise for the kids…we went to the movies.

2012-04-27_172 (1280x855)

We’d watched the trailers and interviews of this movie during Clare’s morning nap. The kids were so interested, but we allowed them to believe it was an adults only movie. We pulled up outside the ticket window and the grins from the backseat were priceless. Thankfully, Daddy had received his Coca-Cola free movie tickets this past week so we enjoyed the movies free of charge. Awesome and such a blessing! (It’s really crazy expensive to take your family to the movies!)

2012-04-27_143 (1280x851)

By the way, this was a fantastic movie! Loved by both Katie & Michael AND us. Clare was very good in her first movie! She’s such a turkey…crying with any stranger that we felt it was better to take our chances and bring her to her first movie. Thankfully, we didn’t regret it.

The song and dance scene at the end of the movie was especially fun! We didn’t know until arriving home and looking it up that Lily Collins (Snow White) is actually Phil Collins’ daughter and the singer of I BELIEVE. I think we simply must add it to our ipod. Michael needs something new to play as our self-proclaimed family DJ on ALL car excursions. He truly loves music. We laugh at the variety of music found on our ipod. It’s fun for me to see what he picks as we drive along our way.

After the movie, in an attempt to make up for the frozen yogurt I didn’t get at breakfast, we went to Yogli Mogli for some frozen yumminess. Rebecca & Sara joined us for the remaining festivities.

 

2012-04-27_147 (1280x958)

2012-04-27_152 (1280x851)

2012-04-27_157 (1280x851)

I try and carry a game or two in my purse with me at all times. Tonight’s game is our newest. Michael’s actually among the best (if you take Daddy out of the mix as the sure winner always). Mini Mouth is both challenging and quick to complete. It takes very little tabletop space and with a minor accommodation (Michael gets to spell phonetically) everyone has an equal chance at winning.

2012-04-27_149 (1280x851)

Thanks for a great birthday. Despite the fact, that my youngest sister (by 10 years) reminded me that I’m now only five years away from being FORTY, it was a great day! I’m incredibly blessed and reminded once again how very precious life really is. Thanks mom and dad for making birthdays special growing up. They really are special occasions! Happy birthday to me one more time.

2012-04-27_165 (1280x1051)

One Comment leave one →
  1. mom permalink
    April 28, 2012 8:03 pm

    Looks like you had a fantastic time!!! Love the pics of YOU for change! Wishing you Many Many Many more wonderful birthdays!!!!

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

