Skip to content

It’s Mardi Gras!

February 21, 2012

Michael can hardly wait for breakfast tomorrow morning. He remembered that last year we celebrated Fat Tuesday with a King Cake. Of course, since this “tradition” was apparently important to him, there was nothing else to do but run down the street to Publix for a King Cake. He’s stared at it repeatedly since and in fact tonight’s bedtime prayers included a thanksgiving for King Cake for breakfast. So…won’t you join us?

DSC_0046 (1280x851)

Well with Mardi Gras celebrations, also come thoughts of Lent. A friend asked me to repost (or post here as I couldn’t find a previous post) a few things we’ve done over the years to celebrate Lent with little ones.

IMG_5014 (960x1280)

A toothpick crown is an easy visual reminder of opportunities to earn grace through good deeds and sacrifices. Each time I see one of our kids (or they bring it to our attention) doing good, they remove a toothpick. Easter morning if the crown is free of thorns, a little present sits in its place. A simple salt dough recipe and purple food coloring easily does the trick. Last year’s post is HERE with more information.

IMG_5030 (1280x960)

The candle stations of the cross are simple, quick, and fun. The kids LOVE being able to blow out each candle as it’s read and prayed. My husband reads one side, and I read the other before the kids take turns blowing it out. (These pictures were from 2008!)

IMG_5039 (1280x960)

IMG_5043 (1280x960)

You can find a printable version of my candle Stations of the Cross HERE. I simply used Mod Podge to adhere them to the outside of a glass votive. They come in a package of 6 at Hobby Lobby. (Mental Note: Don’t accidentally forget and pack them away with the Easter things in a non-temperature controlled attic. Guess I’ll be remaking them this year. Oops.)

HERE are some wonderful Stations of the Cross printable coloring pages.

Of course, coloring pages are a nice addition too. HERE and HERE and HERE.

The Story of Easter from ReginaPress is a great coloring book and reasonably priced also. You can find their catalog HERE.

Young children are especially drawn in through storybooks.


I love The Tale of Three Trees as it gives a nice look at three important events in Jesus’ life…his birth, the calming of the storm and a fishing boat, and the crucifixion. It’s a beautiful means of illustrating lessons on vanity and selfishness.

I also especially love (although not Catholic) this retelling of the various elements of the Passion. The Story of Easter is the “perfect” means of capturing the attention of young children especially. I love the innocence and sweet nature of the perspective of the animals and their witness of these world-changing events. There’s also an accompanying coloring book. Just sweet. (There’s also an equally sweet Christmas version told in the same manner.)

I hope your celebrations are ones blessed with great unity to Christ on the cross. Easter will be here in 40 days (plus Mardi Gras and Sundays)! How are you sacrificing? Inspired by a friend, we’ll be praying a rosary together each day of Lent. I’m also going to start training for a 5K run. Yep. I said it. Now you have a right to hold me accountable. I’ve never run EVER in my life. This is going to be a challenge to say the least! God bless you and your family!

I leave you with Pope Benedict XVI’s message for Lent 2012. You can find it HERE or HERE.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 21, 2012 8:37 pm

    Hey Sara! Your link to your printable candle stations of the cross requires a login to Google Docs. ???

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

