Skip to content

…and there was much rejoicing

December 25, 2011

2011-12-25_006 (1280x851)

2011-12-25_031 (1280x937)

Okay. Preparations for Christmas morning lasted a bit longer than we’d expected. After feeding Clare at 5:00 a.m. Christmas morning, I laid back down for what I thought would be 15 minutes. An hour and a half later, we woke with only 20 minutes to get to Mass. The kids were crushed that they didn’t get to open their Santa gift before Mass. I was crushed that we didn’t sing Happy Birthday and lay him in the manger before Mass, but we made it (minus my makeup) and we were on time even. Christmas graces are truly the best! What a peaceful morning!

2011-12-25_015 (1280x851)

Upon returning home, I made the kids promise that they’d run upstairs and get their baby Jesus but not sing without me. It’s my most favorite part of Christmas morning and always brings me to tears. The anticipation was just as great (despite the fact that it was several hours later than planned). What did Santa bring??

2011-12-25_044 (1280x851)

They both got what they wanted! Look at those faces!!

2011-12-25_050 (851x1280)

Clare received a very beautiful necklace with genuine amber stones…a natural anti-inflammatory.

Christmas breakfast included these most delicious rolls. Oh my goodness!! Seriously fantastic!! I think we’ll make them on Easter (and add the story this time)! Gotta love Pinterest and finding this diamond of a recipe.

2011-12-25_063 (1280x851)

Anna made her fantastic rolls for our dinner meal (oh were they yummy)…might have been the most fantastic thing served that night along with my sister’s potatoes and our friend’s broccoli. I’m not cooking Christmas dinner again!

2011-12-25_127 (1280x960)

This was Katie’s first photograph on her new camera…mom and dad watching them open presents! In fact, this was after the first present in the first hour after Santa gifts were opened. The kids did indeed get to open a present every hour…I LOVE this tradition!!

2011-12-25_125 (1280x960)

Michael didn’t complain too much when Daddy opened this gift!

2011-12-25_145 (1280x851)

There were several Skype calls made throughout the day…to both sets of Grandparents. It’s the first year in a long while that mom and dad weren’t here to celebrate with us. Last year, it was snowing on Christmas day. This year, it was in the 60s. Sure missed them but so thankful for Skype!!!!

2011-12-25_101 (1280x851)

Friends came for dinner.

2011-12-25_158 (1280x851)

My sister and nephew came for dinner and presents.

2011-12-25_205 (1280x930)

Clare’s Godparents (and sisters) came for dessert. That’s two years in a row…surely that counts as an unbreakable Christmas tradition!

2011-12-25_173 (1280x851)

2011-12-25_227 (851x1280)

She had a great First Christmas! It’s hard to comprehend that she’s already 6 months old!!!

2011-12-25_034 (1280x851)

Grandparents (not ours) came for dessert also. They liked the chickens we are pet sitting! We are thankful to see them every year and this year to have them here for Christmas dessert.

2011-12-25_229 (1280x851)

Katie gave EVERYONE (thankfully not the boys) makeovers!

2011-12-25_151 (1280x960)

I sign off with the best Christmas words ever!

For today in the city of David
a savior has been born for you who is Christ and Lord.
And this will be a sign for you:
you will find an infant wrapped in swaddling clothes
and lying in a manger.”
And suddenly there was a multitude of the heavenly host with the angel,
praising God and saying:
“Glory to God in the highest
and on earth peace to those on whom his favor rests.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

