Skip to content

Christmas details….

December 11, 2011

I am SOOO far behind in my blogging and yet I really want to share these little creations with you. I do, indeed, wish that I had printed a second deck of cards and given them to literally everyone we encounter these last few weeks of Advent and into the Christmastide celebrations. Is it wrong to be so excited over something so little?

I always publish little gift photo tags, but was so excited over this little poem and doing something different that I totally ignored the practicality of the photo tags and published these little gems instead. (In hindsight, I should have published little address label stickers, decorated of course, as photo tags. Oh well. Next year, right?!)

Who doesn’t love M&Ms? I am always so in love with the holiday colors from these addictive little chocolate candy covered pieces with their all too familiar branding. It wasn’t that I went in search of the idea, I just happened upon it, and couldn’t resist.

M&Ms

Here’s where it began. This poem….

More Than Colors

These special little candies,
Come in colors bright and fun.
There’s more than color to be found;
A story of God’s Son.
The M’s turn into W’s,
If you turn them upside down.
A few more turns and E and 3’s
Are waiting to be found.
M is for the manger,
Where Mary laid her precious boy.
Little did the world know,
This baby would bring great joy.
The W is for the Wise men,
Who followed a bright star.
The star revealed a king was born,
They came but, oh, so far.
In Bethlehem they found Him,
Just as they had been told.
3 is for the gifts they brought;
Frankincense, myrrh and gold
W is also for their worship,
As they bowed before their King,
Salvation is the promise given,
There’s nothing we can bring.
Faith alone is how we come
He died to set us free.
E is for eternity,
God’s gift to you and me.

(And with a little help from my husband, we made it just a bit more Catholic in its wording.)

Now I had a great poem, but how was I going to connect that with the M&Ms themselves? When in doubt, surf Pinterest. Yep, the ideas were abundant…and so was the need for bags. I ordered mine from Paper Mart, Item#16125, 2×10″ Polyethylene Bags

Perfect little bags

What’s left are these sweet little tubes of M&M’s, a little Christmas sentiment and our photo as a Merry Christmas wish for our friends & family.

Finished treats

Click HERE to see the published cards we tied to our M&M treats.

The kids (and I for that matter) can’t wait to deliver our M&Ms. They both have begged to find their own little bag in Christmas day’s stocking. I think this momma just might have to oblige.

One Comment leave one →
  1. mom permalink
    December 12, 2011 1:22 am

    What a great idea! You always do such interesting fun things! Great job!!!

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

