Skip to content

the happenings of this week

September 26, 2011

Oh this week has been hard. In some ways, it’s been easier than last week and in others, much harder. You see, we are entering a new realm of parenting…one that means our kids are growing up and we are called to work harder. Imagine, right?! I remember thinking that when they were babies, it was so hard. Then they started walking and it was a whole different ballgame of running around and insisting on boundaries. Now our oldest is entering the “big girl” realms of growing up. She’s being tempted interiorly to do wrong, she’s learning what consequences mean because of that, and she’s wrestling with the dreaded hormones. What does this mean? There’s lots of frustration. She can’t “think” clearly like she did just a few months ago. Her emotions are crazy out of control and she is clumsy! Yep. We have entered the world of parenting through puberty. I find myself wondering how on earth I’ll ever know how to do this. What do I say? How much leeway do I give her? Is it okay that she’s always in trouble? How many more times can tears burst forth from her eyes? What will life look like when this all balances itself out a bit? I don’t yet know.

However, I do know that life is life and it is what makes this world a challenge and a blessing. This week, I needed a “get-out-of-a-funk” pick-me-up. What does this momma of a newborn miss the most? Baking! So…I took advantage of a cool fall morning (that quickly felt like summer by lunchtime) and started baking all things pumpkin. Oh was it yummy!!! Michael was my helper this time in between his school lessons. Everyone schooled in the kitchen so that mom could continue making a mess baking. It might have taken me the better part of the day to complete the pumpkin ribbon bread and my favorite pumpkin roll recipe, but I was delighted to do it. As the smells began radiating from the oven, I knew it was the right decision. Clare, not content to follow any sense of normal schedule, participated in the baking by laying on the counter in the mix of food and my stirring. (I do recall having done the same with her siblings. They have always been with me in the kitchen!)

pumpkin (1280x498)

What a special treat to have Uncle Kirk visit this weekend also. Katie was especially delighted and often snuggled up to him. She gets to see her Godfather/Godmother so rarely it seems. We can’t wait for our Thanksgiving road trip and a few days at their house! Katie summed it up perfectly Friday night when she said, “You guys don’t have the same hair. You don’t have the same faces, but you do have the same jokes!” Yes. There was lots of brotherly laughter and fun this weekend. It’s amazing to think that I’ve known Kirk a few months longer than I’ve known Nate…18 years already!! WOW!!

kirk (1280x498)

Clare continues to get so big! I finally got her fists photographed. (It’s been on my list of musts all month.) This is her character trait…clenched fists. It’s what she prefers to shove into her mouth when she loses her pacifier. It is what often hits her own face when she’s laughing or mad. It’s how she sleeps. BUT the interesting thing…she always has her right thumb peeking through her fist and her left thumb in a proper fist. I wonder if she was this way in utero also.

clare (1280x498)

And Aunt Anna makes the blog this week. She has lived with us since May of 2010. Gosh…it’s really been over a year! She’s happened to be game for some snuggle time and I was okay indulging yet another “catnap while being held” moment for little Clare. Once-in-a-while, Anna and I get some adult conversation in the mix of craziness here at home. Today, was one of those stolen moments! Wish us luck, Nate is trying to help her find a car! Yes. No more borrowing a Boster vehicle to get to and from work! Anyone in Atlanta have a cheap/reliable car to sell?

2011-09-25_DSC_0001 (2) (1280x851)

Here’s to another week…nothing unusual planned this week. It’s hard to believe that it’s less than 10 days until Katie’s birthday! She’ll really be EIGHT!! Next weekend is or big trip to the apple orchard. Unfortunately, I don’t think the temperatures are predicted to be very fall-like though…looks like low 80s all week! I LOVE Atlanta weather!! What do you have planned this week?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

