Skip to content

Sunday happenings

September 18, 2011

Oh how I love that you can feel Fall in the air. The temperatures are COOL in the morning and warm up nicely in the afternoon. The sun is shining, the sky is a brilliant shade of blue, and the cirrus clouds are the perfect accessory to the view.

Yesterday, the kids and I stopped in to celebrate fall at Bath & Body Works. Oh, how I love that they mark the season changes so perfectly. I love the chance to bring a bit of that change into our home. Although, the fall decorations have not been unpacked and placed around the house, there are some new scents that speak all things fall. I am in love with the Cinnamon Pumpkin Spice oil that was burning this morning, and am anxiously anticipating my opportunity to burn the Powdered Sugar Donut candle in the bedroom. The kids were excited (Michael especially) to choose 8 mini anti-bacterial bottles for $5. Sweet deal! I’m not big on the need to use all that soapy stuff, but I do like to have a bottle handy for those before-eating-after-playing-at-the-park moments. The other time I find myself consistently using them are at Church after the kids blow their nose.

Oh yes. I can’t forget to embarrass our Katie just a bit. (Thankfully, she finds the blog a bit uninteresting and doesn’t often take the time to read it.)
We were leaving Bath & Body and the sale associate stopped me to share with me the quote of the month spoken by none other than our dear Katie. “Give my mom $20 and she’ll spend it here before putting gas in the car!” Oh my. Where on earth do they come up with these sayings?! It does take me a long time to choose anything in that store. Have you been in lately? What is your new favorite scent?

Other than a bit of weekend shopping, we have had a few other great moments. Nate spent Friday & Saturday at a SQL Server conference. What was it about? Some kind of database & coding computer stuff. All I know was that he was incredibly wound up sharing all the details. It is great to see him excited about it and talking about bigger plans for next year’s involvement and his networking that started this weekend.

Today, we made it to 7:30 a.m. Mass. It’s a first since Clare’s arrival. Of course, it meant that our little girl who has been sleeping through night, would wake up twice last night and I’d have insomnia for the better part of the early morning hours. We made it though!

DSC_0010 (1280x851)

Clare is getting so very strong. She is now able to use her arms as leverage gaining her another few inches up off the floor when she’s on her belly! She also prefers to “stand” while you are holding her. Her fist is still her first defense when we aren’t helping hold the pacifier in her mouth. In fact, she makes two fists most of her day. One hand, the thumb pokes through her first two fingers. The other hand, the thumb rests nicely on the outside as if she was ready to punch correctly. She’s going to be our boxer. It’s been her signature trait since birth.

clare (1280x498)

Today’s Church picnic was fun! The kids were delighted to run between the jumpys and play the games with the D.J. It was a fantastic afternoon BBQ with burgers and hot dogs fresh off the grill thanks to Mr. Mark…Clare’s greatest admirer.

michael (1280x498)

Katie was determined to conquer the rock wall, but in the end decided that her legs just weren’t long enough to stretch to all the footings. In reality, I think she’s just still a bit nervous. Although, Michael might have been able to scale it pretty easily, he is not accustomed to trying new things on the spot. Our little man, needs a bit of coaxing and has to check it out before diving in to most anything new. Change is especially difficult for him! Besides, he was perfectly content running around the field, jumping & sliding on the inflatables.

katie (1280x498)

We’ve got just a few more hours in this weekend for more of this!

DSC_0012 (851x1280)

Our upcoming week will be filled with all things school, first PSR class, tutoring, a date night for Nate & I, Michael’s second guitar lesson, Katie’s second AHG club meeting, and the anticipation of Uncle Kirk’s arrival Friday afternoon. I’m thinking there’s going to be lots of laughing and sports in the house this weekend. Sure wish he was coming with his wife and kids though! Oh yes, I also have a planning meeting, because I just didn’t think there was enough on my plate. I volunteered to be the AHG photographer and lead the oldest girls in earning their photography badge and putting together the troop yearbook also. It will be fun and something new! I’m excited for the opportunity!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

