Skip to content

It’s a new year…

September 12, 2011

Ahhhh….fall is here in Atlanta. The temperatures this past week have made our mouths water for all things fall. I’ve eaten the new caramel apple sundae from McDonald’s twice this week!! We’ve purchased our tickets for next weekend’s trip to the apple orchard & fall festival. Whether it’s lack of water and/or cooler temperatures, there are signs of color in the leaves around town. Running errands today, Nate and I both remarked how our spirits were different. There’s something about fall that makes us happy.

Tomorrow also marks the beginning of school for us. I know, for a family that is generally ahead of the game in everything, we’re doing it a little different this year. The kids did abbreviated school until Clare was born, but we have officially been on vacation since early July. I think even I have been dragging my feet just a bit. Although, we all crave the routine of the school year, this year is different. Change is hard for me. I put a lot of pressure on myself to make it all “perfect”. Nate calls it my super woman complex. Although, I work on it daily, there is just a lot on my plate and motherhood requires changes. It’s the way of motherhood with young ones. It’s expected when you are a homeschooling mother, and it’s the name of the game when your kids are in activities. There’s an excitement to it all, but I secretly wish I could fast forward a few weeks and KNOW if it was all going to work.

I have 12+ hours of tutoring which makes for some great income. It makes my heart happy to meet with my kids; to challenge myself and them. I have the great privilege of doing some high school SAT prep work with one of my girls. (I’ve never had this opportunity and never actually took the test myself.) Although, it also looks like I might have freshman biology (not my favorite subject), I really love this boy and want to fight for his success. He had a great year last year. I want him to have that same confidence this year also! I have a myriad of grades between high school junior and fourth grade, and I love them all in different ways. I am a natural-born teacher. However, these extra work hours just add another dimension to the already full schedule.

Katie will be schooling 3rd grade this year. I know she will independent in most of her work, but we have goals none-the-less. Goals for her and goals for me as her sideline instructor. Michael will be starting KG. Although, this means we are piecing materials together for most of his morning, he will be doing science & history with K12. I also want to put a bit more focus into their religious education. We’ve always done it naturally as it comes up in our everyday life, and they attend PSR weekly at the parish. However, I want to spend some time as a family preparing for the New Mass AND going through the old and new testament stories. Exciting, but new. New means change. Change means there’s a part of my heart that skips a beat in anxiousness. Crazy, I know!

Katie will be taking sewing class and participating in American Heritage Girls. It looks like both decisions were EXCELLENT moves for this girl. AHG has rocked her world more than we ever imagined. She gets to participate with her best friend. We get to know that she’s with fantastic families from a nearby parish. Katie has talked about little else than the promise of this year in AHG. She’s getting so very big – maturing and setting her eyes on “grown up” things.  In fact, this sweet girl has made me breakfast in bed twice this week. Today, her daddy got the luxury as well. Special delivery of homemade pancakes and milk. The kids think it’s funny that we eat like the Romans (laying down on our side) when we eat in bed. It’s a true sign that we have an infant in the house (who isn’t quite sleeping through the night) that your kids have time to get up and make breakfast before mom is even out of bed. This doesn’t bode well for mommy’s new start-of-school alarm! YIKES! She’s also been asking to do the grocery shopping (parts of it at least) all by herself so that she can practice for when she has her own family. I love it. However, I do sincerely hope she understands that there’s a natural time-frame for that….grow up, go to college, get married THEN have children! HA. She is growing up so quickly! In fact, tonight, we had our first conversation about the mystery of hormones. “She just doesn’t understand why sometimes it doesn’t make sense.” Yep. Our little girl is not so little anymore! More changes ahead….

 American Heritage Girls, Troop 0413

Best Friends

Michael starts his guitar lessons this week also…30 minutes one-on-one. He’s getting so big! Although, I can kick myself for not getting him into soccer, it will be priority come the spring season. Change is especially hard for my little man. I’ve done lots of talking about this upcoming class, inserting the topic at every chance. Thankfully, he’s now no longer saying he won’t do it. Nonetheless, I know I’ll have to give him a little push tomorrow. He talks about learning to skateboard and has decided this is his birthday wish. We went to the skate park nearby last week and I watched those skaters with new eyes. Not sure I’m ready for my little man to be out there doing such tricks. Golly! This is what it means to be the mother of a boy! I’ll have to let go just a bit and pray a bit more! He’s got the disposition for such antics. In fact, he climbs, runs, and jumps ALL DAY and always with that great big killer grin that melts this momma’s heart.

 2011-09-08_DSC_0820 (1280x851)
2011-09-08_DSC_0822 (1280x851)

2011-09-08_DSC_0824 (1280x851)

We have been pretty close to home the last few years, so the addition of multiple activities means we are juggling just a bit more. Both kids are in PSR and I’m teaching 1st grade again. (Nate actually hopes to try his hand at adult education by leading an hour “class” during the same time. He’d be so great at it. I hope that it happens.)

In addition to all these changes, we have a NEWBORN also. Admittedly, the newborn months are the most difficult for me. I will be the first to admit, though, that she’s been the easiest of all! I still hope that she’ll sleep on schedule, but at least she’s happy and eating within a reasonable schedule. She’s almost close to sleeping through the night. Oh how I love her grins. She watches everything. At 75% in height (23″) and weight (11 lbs. 11.8 oz.), along with her crazy strength, the pediatrician has declared she’s going to be our all-star athlete. There’s some non-expected genes! Golly, we love her a lot!! Mikey ooes and gooes over her constantly. He’s always loving on her, checking on her, talking to her, stroking her. Katie loves her, but more from a distance.
I say it’s a result of her “busy” life and grown-up focus. She has other interests. Babysitting won’t be one of them.

So, there’s our life. Our life as it stands with all its anticipation and nervousness. The kids are getting so big, and I don’t think I’ve ever been so aware of how this changes our life and focus. It’s fantastic and yet a part of me wishes time would just stand still. Isn’t this a secret desire of all mothers?

Here’s to all the adventures of a new school year and the promise of fall on the horizon. By the way, I’ve declared the BOSTERS (yep all four of us) will be runners this fall. I even bit the bullet and purchased special tennis shoes (to the tune of $140) so I’d have no excuses. Katie & I (with all our uncordination) will tackle this together along with Dad & Michael’s encouragement. Michael will run circles around all of us for sure! Nate did so well this past spring, I’m going to allow him to pull me through. I am definitely NOT a runner! We’re all going to jump on board…kicking and screaming maybe, but it will be good for us. We will conquer this also! Bring on the changes…all of them! I’m ready!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

