Skip to content

2011-01-19 First Reconciliation

January 19, 2011

2011-01-19_033 (451×800), originally uploaded by sara_boster.

Yep. She really is old enough. Our Katie Girl received her second sacrament today. What a day for everyone! I must admit that tears streamed down my face several times tonight. I’m so thankful for our faith and the rich tradition of our Sacraments and life of holiness. God is good. We are so proud to be Catholic.

  2011-01-19_027 (495x800)

She requested fried chicken and an ice cream cake as her celebratory meal. I am proud to say that I don’t fry food so we opted to pick it up instead from the Colonel himself. Everyone was pleased to say the least. Fried Chicken is this southern girl’s favorite!

  2011-01-19_039 (800x532)

Katie’s friend Nora, from PSR, happened to sit down next to us. Katie was so thrilled and proudly informed us that they sit together during every Monday night class. How fitting that they’d share today together also.

  2011-01-19_045 (532x800)

Examination of Conscience

  2011-01-19_054 (532x800)

Our beautiful Church, St. Brigid. Deacon Leo Gahafer was the celebrant at tonight’s service. She made her first reconciliation with a dear priest, Fr. David Daly, LC and as her parents we were able to help her renew her baptismal promises in a private prayer.

  2011-01-19_062 (521x800)

Notice the shadow behind Katie….I love it!!!! Sort of reminds me of Jesus’ promise to love us and wrap his arms around us. He celebrates each moment that one sheep returns to the flock. Tonight, it was an honor to be there as Katie made this first step (on her own) to be part of the Church and live a Sacramental life. God is good!

  2011-01-19_065 (800x532)

We are so proud of you sweet girl. It makes us happy to know that when we asked you if you felt any different, your response was simply, “Yes. My heart feels so heavy with all the grace that is in it.” We agree. You do have a lot of grace in that heart and soul of yours. We are honored to share part of that with you. Thanks for being a great kid. We love you!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

