Skip to content

Day 289/365 ~ the Kitchen is open for business

October 16, 2010

 

Success! I've conquered my first ever kitchen fear...home canning. Thanks to some really great YouTube videos, I finally took the leap. Boy, does this apple jelly taste yummy!

 

 

Boiled peels and cores to make the apple juice for the yummy jelly!

 

 

Yep. I opted not to spend the $20 on the fantastic peelers we've used in year's past. We peeled by hand this year. Katie was so delighted to have acquired this new skill and is still begging for the chance to peel the remaining apples in the basket.

 

APPLE JELLY and the APPLE BUTTER recipes were both fantastic. Now, I just have to perfect that art of getting the jelly to gel before sealing the jars. Oh well, apple syrup I think will quickly be a new favorite substitute to maple syrup.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    October 19, 2010 5:07 pm

    Did you not use pectin in the jelly…think that should work…been years since I attempted to make jelly…remember the grapes on the fence at Chipper…made jelly from them!

  2. October 26, 2010 12:19 am

    You’re a brave woman peeling them all by hand! I couldn’t live without my apple peeler. It works great for pears too…we made a bunch of pear butter over the weekend.

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

