Skip to content

Day 286/365 ~ Apple Orchards

October 13, 2010

 

Aren't field trips the best?? We were so thrilled to have spent the morning with some of our beloved homeschool friends. Hillcrest Apple Orchards hosted a fantastic outing today!

 

Hillcrest Apple Orchard is about 45 minutes north of our house in the North Georgia Mountains. The last time we went to this particular orchard, Michael wasn’t even a year old. It was fun to bring both of them back and this time for some extracurricular fun too.

 

Would you like a cup of fresh apple cider? Unaminous vote...it tasted fantastic!

 

 

Feeding the goats at the petting farm.

 

 

These chicks were so sweet and both kids were so excited to hold them. They were just a cheeping away and were so soft too!

 

 

This puppy was so sweet. Katie has already started asking again for a puppy. NO WAY!!! I was so proud of her though for chasing down the chicken. I think we need a trip back to Grandma Ptacek's farm! This girl is ready to do more than gather eggs.

 

 

Everyone got to milk this cow AND the real buttercup. Awesome!!

 

 

Super cool slide that spanned the length of a really large hill!

 

 

This girl has wanted to climb trees for years. She finally got her chance. She's becoming so much more brave these days...SEVEN it seems is her magic number. She climbed with ingenuity and bravery too. I must admit the thought of throwing apples down to mom was quite appealing. Many of them were a little overshot and missed my head by centimeters I'm certain.

 

 

She really did make it almost to the very top!

 

 

We gathered this handpicked bag of apples and then purchased another one the same size from the market. We have some serious apples in this house now.

 

 

Such pride!

Katie's tree!

Anna was savoring these apple cinnamon donuts! They were quite yummy!

Well, Mikey liked them a lot also!!

Katie was rather partial to the apple cider slush! I think I have to agree with her on that one! YUMMY!!!

B.J. Reece Apple Orchard has become of our traditional fall festivities. The kids and I have picked some mighty great apples from their trees. I have already started preparing my brain for some serious apple cooking in the upcoming week. Now, I just have to make final decisions on the recipes.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

