Skip to content

Miracles. Miracles. Miracles.

October 10, 2010

10.10.10 – A day you see only once in a lifetime. I’m not one for superstition, but I do love those cool little number moments like when the clock reads 12:12 or 1:11 or 10:10. It might really mean nothing, but it’s one of those unplanned moments that stop you in your tracks and for a brief second, you acknowledge that something unique just occurred. Twelve years ago today (actually in the 8pm hour), God orchestrated a moment that would forever change the course of my life. In a single moment, in a humble chapel hundreds of miles from home, a college girl prayed in the back corner surrounded by hundreds of other classmates. It was an intercessory prayer for others that God plucked from her heart and made it more than a mere prayer. Even twelve years later, it is still unbelievable to me. I can feel the moment as if it had just happened. In a single instance, God took an incredible 2-year cross, a cross that was physically and mentally debilitating, and chose to forever lift it from her shoulders…lift it from MY shoulders.

In an incredible moment of prayer, I was swept over by an all-encompassing breeze that started at my head and radiated through my entire body. Although, I looked to see if someone had opened the door, I knew instantly that it had been the presence of the Holy Spirit, but what I didn’t immediately grasp was the depth of what had just transpired. Hours later, with the understanding of a holy and loving friend (and later confirmed by a dear priest), I would come to understand that God has just granted me total healing. The breeze was actually my miracle. A miracle that instantly changed the course of my life. More changed that day than my physical health. That day I was up and close and personal experiencing totally God’s love, power, and a realization that His plans for life are personal and individually tailored to the soul. God’s gifts are real, and His desire to shower them ever so evident.

That night, twelve years ago, everything changed. I could now dream about marriage and motherhood, a vocation to teach and full-time classroom employment. You see severe chronic fatigue had robbed me of the ability to do even the simplest tasks like pick up a full glass to drink, or walk across the room, or study/read coherently, or remember conversations that had been shared just a few hours before. My body was at a disconnect with my brain, a disorder that creates such fatigue that your mental function slows and becomes impaired. It was evident (after struggling to fulfill my student teaching obligations) that a full day in the class wasn’t realistic. The doctors had already told me that I wouldn’t likely be able to carry a full-term pregnancy or care for a young child with the current physical and mental limitations. In my heart, I knew that was true. However, it’s all I had ever wanted in life. Children had been the one constant since I was young. Looking at a final semester of school, I was quickly becoming aware of the change in plans for my future upon graduation.

What I didn’t know sitting that night in Steubenville, OH was that earlier in the day, Nate had interceded for me at the home of St. Therese of Lisieux in France. She was a dear companion to me, fostered greatly by a great group of college girl friends. Nate knew I always prayed a 9-day novena leading up to her feast on October 1st. That year had been no exception, although now I can’t even recall what I prayed that year. At any rate, it would be almost 10 days later before I could share the news of healing with Nate. He was traveling on his 10-day fall break through the country of Ireland. This man who had stood by me through an incredibly difficult few years and was looking at a very different future himself as marriage was “in our plans”, was among the very instruments that led to my healing that day.

There are so many more details to this fantastic story, but the essence is the very fact that GOD IS GOOD! God is so good to have given me the strength to be a serving wife, the health to be a mother, the endurance to teach a classroom of Kindergartners and later my own children, and the ability to dream again.

My perception now, twelve years later, resembles many of those same lessons taught a young college girl. The lesson then and now – don’t doubt God’s all encompassing power and love for humanity. In the past year, I have doubted frequently what I didn’t see, what wasn’t humanly understood, and what was beyond my control. It seems sometimes, much to my disappointment, that I need the same reminders over and over again. I am happy to have the chance, however, to fall in love again and again with such a good God. Oh to think of life without faith….I can’t imagine.

Enjoy today. Hug your loved ones. Say thank you for the little things, the things that often go unacknowledged. They are important. There will surely be a time when you wish you hadn’t taken it for granted.

God is good….all the time!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    October 11, 2010 7:53 am

    Thanks so much for the reminder of what a wonderful blessing that time was! God is so good to reward us when we are faithfull…joy to hang onto for a lifetime!! Thanks! Therese for your intersession too!

  2. Stacey Persichetti permalink
    October 12, 2010 4:28 am

    That is such a beautiful story. God knew what he was doing – you are such an amazing mom and teacher…and needed the energy!

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

