Skip to content

Day 275/265 ~ God bless our heroes

October 2, 2010

Happy feast of the Guardian Angels!

Happy feast of the Guardian Angels…those great little angels that are entrusted to care for us individually. I am forever grateful for their assistance as they carry us through our day, although sadly often unacknowledged. I remember my grandmother sending her angel to be with us whenever we traveled. It’s a tradition that I’ve happily adopted as well. However, I use it for more than just travel. “Protect my children today. Help my children learn today. Help me to be patient today. Help me to see the little things in the day and treasure them for their simplicity and littleness. Help me to love more.”Those are my regular prayers to my own Guardian Angel. At bedtime, we gather together as a family to pray to our angels and to give thanks for the day. Thank you God for these special treasures you gave us at creation! Thank you for personalizing the one assigned to watch over each of us. You know the very skills they need most to keep us on the path toward heaven.

Fitting that we celebrate the angels and our community service heroes on the same day. We spent the morning enjoying Forsyth County Safety Day sponsored by the county and Home Depot.

The kids got to build a fireboat with Nate at the monthly kid’s clinic.

They even got the chance to “play” in the fire rescue boat. Michael deemed it the best part of the whole day. He might still wear his life jacket at the pool, but maybe he will be my strongest swimmer.

We also partook in the free food from our yummy local Zaxby’s and Lenny’s subshop. It was a fantastic surprise and the cup of sweet tea a welcome addition to a fall morning outside.

The kids and Nate are no stranger to firetrucks, but today served as a great reminder of a firefighters heroism and the ways they serve our county. Thank you Grandpa Kent for your years of service in Wellington, Kansas.

We had a serious fire when I was a very young child, and consequently grew up with a very healthy fear of house fires as well as the crazy insanity that might have been our fire evacuation plan. We have taken the opportunity to have those same conversation with our kids. However, maybe with a little less insanity. I love you mom. Thanks for getting us out of the house safely as kids!! I’ll keep my fire ladder handy under the kids’ beds.

The “Touch a Truck” element of today was especially cool. It was cool to get up close and climb into all the emergency vehicles and get a small kid-sized glimpse of life as a community service hero. I had never given any thought to how a patient is positioned into the cabin of a helicopter. Genius use of space! Notice how the head of the patient bed is tucked up under the front window (bottom right of this picture)?

About mid-way into our morning, the rescue helicopter was actually called away to service and lifted off right there with us standing around. It really was quite cool. However, the kids were not able to actually “watch” as the dust/sand was too great to keep them facing the helicopter. At any rate, Dad braved the elements and got a great video of it. Thanks honey!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Auntie Sherry Ruth permalink
    October 3, 2010 12:38 am

    Happy Birthday to you Katie Ruth!!!! 7 years old, wow how time has flown since you were just a little baby. You are becoming such a beautiful girl, so sincere, sweet & full of questions & an enormous appetite for learning. Who knows maybe you will be the book illustrator or writer that I know stirs within your adoring Mother. I miss you sweet girl & can’t wait for you to come see us again here in KC. I need a swim partner. We love you over the moon & back. Wish you were here today to help make Grano’s cinnamon rolls. x s & os!! Auntie Sherry Ruth & Uncle Barton

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

