Skip to content

Day 268/365 – Havin’ me a bit of the West

September 25, 2010

Oh happy days. I am so incredibly jealous of this legend's grasp of photography and detail. The stories that hung next to his prints were fantastic. Imagine, seeing the world in the detail and with the patience of this legend's eye. What incredible inspiration and a tribute to all God so masterfully created.

Ansel Adams you are my hero.

Katie's sketch of Old Faithful. She was jealous to hear that both Anna & I have been there. Bummer that it isn't as impressive as it was once upon a time. Very cool none-the-less though.

Nate finally got to see the Grand Tetons and Yellowstone in a detail that is almost as good as actually being there. I must take the kids and my adventure seeking husband to the west for some serious travel.

Even the elevators were "works of art".

What a very cool sculpture. Gotta love the facial lines of the American Indians. Only God knows the true depth of the stories etched in the crevices of each of those wrinkles. I'm still totally in wonder at the all-encompassing respect their culture has/had for all things nature. BTW...I also love Anna's smile in this picture. (One of the curators encouraged me to climb the stairs to get this picture. Cool.)

I don’t have a picture of her sketch here. Maybe I’ll get around to adding an update later today.
The first and one of the most anticipated exhibits on our trip.

Our Katie Girl has come to have a certain (although not yet fully developed) fascination with the Church fathers. She was so anxious to sketch EACH of them, but we convinced her a few was a good start and we'd come back. George Washington...thank you for being a TRUE leader!

Good 'ole Honest Abe. She's just finished reading some poetry (in her language arts curriculum) about our dear President Lincoln. She was so concerned that she get his lips just right. His ears were a challenge though.

Yep. Her daddy's afraid she's going to start a political war on this blog. (I love this girl's honesty and simple candor.) However, I doubt it's a big surprise to anyone that we are in fact very conservative and not a big fan of our current president's decisions and leadersihp for our country. We are indeed anxiously awaiting November's election and the hope of redemption for our beloved country.

About 3 minutes into the Presidential exhibit, it was clear our little man was a bit bored and uninterested in his sister's need for detail. I love the juxtaposition of this picture...two very different times. A man of great accomplishment and foresight, and a young boy brushing up against the depths of history not yet understood. We pray he has the character and leadership of these men surrounding him in this room. (Don't get me wrong. Politics isn't something we generally wish for our kids, but a good dose of heroism and greatness for the common good is inspiring.)

And she's into sketching here too...I'll have to make a point of showing her some real longhorns when we visit the west next time.

Yep. Handed the android to our little man in this gallery too. He admires art at a much faster pace than the rest of us. But mind you, he looked at the treasures in each room, even if just briefly. I really am so impressed with him and his ability to remember a whisper and appropriate speed in moving around the rooms. These are two characteristics not overly common with a little man. He was a stellar museum-goer today. This momma is however so very thankful for modern technology and his 3-year-old grasp of it. It sure came in handy today.

The Civil War room was another of our "must see" rooms as it too goes along with a current theme in Katie's curriculum right now. However, our 6-year-old had already had her fill of museum life. Ironically, her brother had finally caught his interactive spirit. Here, hei s sketching the family in the museum.

He couldn't get enough of his own sketching. Here, he's waiting on the elevator. He capture so many people's attention. In fact, a wonderful Italian artist and photographer took his picture and insisted that Michael grow up to be an artist of great stature. Michael agreed, although with the thick accent, I'm not sure he was certain what the man was really asking. Sadly, we can't seem to find Michael's sketch. He had scribbled out most of what he had drawn as he had "messed up". There are a few perfectionists in this house. I think Nate might just be outnumbered.

Michael's buffalo didn't make the trip today. We took this picture so he could show his beloved friend that he had met a buffalo at the museum. Cool photograph, right?!

Just a little silliness and a break from the seriousness of the museum.

I imagine this is the first trip of many over the coming years to this great museum. For a small town in Georgia, Cartersville has done an excellent job putting together this museum. Thank you Booth Western Art Museum for hosting our afternoon and broadening our minds too. We will be back.

I so love our life here in the big city of Atlanta. Life in the south is different than what I knew on the Kansas plains and yet so very wonderful. We love to take advantage of the spontaneous and bit random things the city has to offer. Today, our journey was in honor of national Museum Day. There’s something very life-changing about embarking upon the adventure of homeschooling. It motivates you to see the world in ways you might not in the business of carpool and homework. Today, we schooled in so many ways and on a Saturday none-the-less. To all our K12 friends, make the drive and spend the afternoon exploring the depths of  the Booth Museum, especially if you have a second-grader.

Now, if there wasn’t rain in the forecast, we would be going hiking tomorrow and partaking in the traditional apple orchard events. We are so thankful for the rain and the promised cooler temperatures it is bringing with it, but I had looked forward to an afternoon in the North Georgia mountains. I think we’ll put out the halloween decorations instead and get ready for Katie’s big birthday next week. Our sweet girl is turning seven and wants a “mummy” party. Yep. We homeschool in our house. Our girl, two years after being taught, is still in love with ancient Egypt. However, I guess it is a bit fitting for an October birthday. At least, that is what I tell myself. I’m off to scour the internet for some mummy cake ideas.

Oh yes, a big shout out to Kelle Hampton for providing the musical soundtrack for my morning of blogging. I love the randomness that is your playlist.

On that note, my little man’s voice just broke my morning of solitude. Will he ever wake up dry though? I have hope that the day is coming soon. Thank God for plastic mattress covers. I’m off to do some early morning bathing and laundry.  Have a great weekend. (Daddy, I got the post done in time for you to see it. I love you.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    September 26, 2010 5:53 pm

    Love that you are doing the updates sooner! The blog is great! And Katie the pictures (esp. George and Abe) are fantastic! I think you really do have a talent for art! Don’t loose your pictures as someday you will want to remember how it all began…time to start your portfolio! Love you all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sara the picture of Anna from up above was inspired…glad you made the climb! Keep shooting those pics you have and eye for camera work too…start your portfolio too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Auntie Sherry Ruth permalink
    September 26, 2010 10:46 pm

    Oh Sara Lin, how I love to feel a part of your adventures here while seeing your beautiful pictures & reading your whimsical & often spirit filled thoughts of being a Mother to such creative talents. You are so blessed & it’s good to see if even in small dosages the gifts God has given you. I feel certain, though, that He has much bigger plans as you have a natural gift of story telling, captures one’s heart & certainly keeps the atttention of the reader. I felt inclined to post this note as it was fresh in my mind & pray that you will seriously search God’s intentions for you. You should be writer of some kind, children’s books & / or an illustrator. I will pray that doors of opportunity are opened for you in big ways, such talented children as well. Just think of all those you could touch with your gifts. I love you all dearly & please give Michael & Katie Ruth xs & os…Nate a hug as well!

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

