Skip to content

Patpittars

April 23, 2009

co-op this afternoon was filled with the excitement of caterpillars. Katie and Michael both loved searching for them and collecting them in the caterpillar tupperware. I learned that the nest high up in the tree that looked like an obnoxiously spun spider web was really a nest of caterpillars. In fact, the top of the tree had been stripped of its leaves. Amazing. 100s of caterpillars in the trees meant an abundance in the grass and yard below. The kids were thrilled!! One of the 4-year-olds “taught” Michael the rules for picking up caterpillars. The yard had suddenly “come alive” with adventures. I was impressed that Michael managed without me (I’m a bit of an insect phobic) actually having to touch one or several for that matter. I did have to teach Michael, however, how to stop the caterpillar from actually climbing up his face (after managing to climb the length of his arm and up his shoulder and neck. YIKES. I will be forever grateful that Michael responded quickly and I didn’t have to intervene. God knows just what I need! HA!

0021003005

Edit: Apparently they are tent nest caterpillars. More HERE or HERE for pictures.

One Comment leave one →
  1. mom/gramma lissa permalink
    April 23, 2009 5:25 pm

    YEA!Mikey…wanna come catch fire flies this summer???????

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

