Skip to content

Christmas Ornament Crafting

December 4, 2013

Advent has started and our home is starting to come alive with Christmas decorations. That means Christmas gifts and planning is in full swing.

Even though our kids are homeschooled, we tend to have a need for lots of gifts this season. There are PSR teachers and archery coaches and AHG leaders and neighbors and friends who we think of in a special way this time of year. Needless to say, those gifts add up when it comes to our budget. What to do?

This year, I have my eyes set on this project.

2013-12-03_2015 (1280x851)

How did I do it? Warm the sculpey clay in your hands, roll it nice and smooth and cut with this circle cutter. I really like this size for this project.

2013-11-19_039 (1280x851)

Next, you’ll want to choose your design. If you plan to incorporate words, be sure to spell them backwards so they stamp correctly on the clay.

2013-11-19_041 (1280x851)

I love the Rycraft stamps also. Aren’t they lovely?

2013-12-03_2041 (1280x851)

I think the ornaments have such a different flair with the embossed images.

2013-12-03_2039 (1280x851)

Lastly, you’ll pop it in a 175F oven for 10-15 minutes. Let cool and then string with beads. Each ornament comes with three color coordinated and different sized beads, silver spaces, and a silver ribbon. I love gifts that are one-of-a-kind. This project sure fits the bill.

2013-12-03_2029 (1280x851)

A little homemade ornament scented with the perfect holiday essential oil blend. Holiday JOY smells so wonderful and the perfect addition to this terra cotta clay. The oil soaks in so nicely and gives it that unexpected little touch. Once the smell fades, you can give it another drop of any oil.

Holiday joy

So…this year on December 11, 2013 I’ll have everything ready for a little night of crafting. You are invited to come from 7-10 p.m. and make your own ornament. Will you craft for yourself or to give as gifts?

Each ornament costs just $2 and comes in a plastic bag perfect for gift giving. I plan to attach a little sticker and a gift tag.

sticker

RSVP in the comments section with your name and how many ornaments you’d like me to reserve for you. I have supplies for 30 or so at the moment. First come, first serve. If you haven’t paid for your ornaments by 8:00 that night, they are up for grabs to anyone in attendance.

Bring yourself, cash, an appetizer to share, and a pair of needle nose pliers if you have them. You’ll find it helpful for bending the wire. We’ll enjoy an evening of fellowship and fun. I can’t wait to see you!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2013 2:20 am

    Cj – 4 or 5 would be great.

Leave a Reply

Enlarge Thy Tent

Making room for more in our hearts and our home

Clickin Moms

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Clover Lane

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Full Bus

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SouleMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Quiet Life

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Savor His Goodness

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Catholic Family Vignettes

A collage of literary snapshots from the life of a large traditional Catholic family

Homeschooling With Joy

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

The Breadbox Letters

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Small Things

Just another WordPress.com site

My Child, I Love You

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Revolution of Love Blog

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

fountains of home

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

SlowMama

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Amongst Lovely Things

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

A Holy Experience

The life of a stay-at-home-mom should not be taken for granted. Enjoy my remembrances of today!

Young House Love

Two Young People + One Old House = Love

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

